Spiders, what spiders?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
September 27th 2006
Published: September 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A quick hello from the land of pies and dunnies. No photos I'm afraid, but they will come.
I hate to admit it but Australia is a fantastic place. The Australians are much nicer in their own habitat rather behind the bar in a London pub.
So far we have been to Ayers rock in the red centre, and by George, it is red (redder than my hair). We did a helicopter flight at sunset and a camel ride. Also drove to Kings Canyon about 300k north of the rock which was rather spectacular. Didn't see any Kangeroos though.
Then we came to Queensland to seek out the teeming life of the rainforest. However, it doesn't quite teem. We only saw a couple of small crocs and the odd tree snake. Didn't spot a Cassowary bird, we think they don't really exist and are just a marketing ploy ala the Loch Ness monster. But I've managed not to see any horrid spiders apart from one medium size one in the desert. So the rainforest gets my approval. I've even licked an ant's bottom.
Just on Green Island on the reef, it's lovely, lots of turtles and even a few whales. And of course we found Nemo.
Sadly we are off to Sydney now, but I'm sure it will be fun. We're going to check out a zoo to find the mythical wildlife.
Even got to catch Steve Irwins memorial service, I have to say it fair brought a tear to my eye.
And as the song goes...
Give me a home amongst the gum trees,
with lots of plum trees,
a sheep or two and a kangeroo
and a clothes line out the back.
A verrandah out the front and an old rocking chair...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.55s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 24; qc: 102; dbt: 0.1146s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb