Great Barrier Reef


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » open water
September 20th 2006
Published: September 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My last days in Oz I explored an area that I have dreamt of since I was a child, The Great Barrier Reef. It exceeded my expectations in more ways than one. I decided the best way to experience its magnificent beauty & wildlife would be to get my scuba diving certification. So I did. After two days of classroom/pool time we departed on a massive boat with about 35 people for the next three days. Although my sailor legs didn't quite kick in I was still overwhelmed with joy and my body with shivers at the first glimpse of the reef. The first four dives were with the five other divers in my group and my instructor (Tristan-a nice lad from NZ). At the bottom of the ocean, we practiced breathing without our regulator in our mouths, using our diving buddy's alternative air source, buoyancy, emergency ascents, and my least favorite of them all, taking off our mask, putting it back on completely flooded with water, and clearing it. Very, very, scary getting your nose filled up with saltwater way down at 60 ft below. By the end, I was ready to set off on my own, well, with my
The WhaleThe WhaleThe Whale

Our first open-water scuba dive site.
diving buddy of course!
The highlight of the trip was the sunrise dive. There was an incredible amount of fish traffic. All of the fish that had been active at night were going home to sleep and all of the fish that were asleep were coming out of the coral and beginning their days. This was also the dive when we spotted two sharks, a green sea turtle, and many beautifully colored fish and coral.

When I returned to land, Lisa (diving buddy), Tom (mate from the Nunnery), and Cristina (fellow diver) travelled up the coast to Daintree National Park where the rainforested mountains sweep down to meet long sandy beaches. It was amazing to think that only the day before we were under the ocean admiring fish, sharks, coral etc. and now we were gallivanting through one of the oldest rainforests in the world!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

lisa & Ilisa & I
lisa & I

My scuba diving buddy & I showing our underwater sign language for 'look, something exciting!'
green antgreen ant
green ant

look closely...its an ant w/ a green bum...it tastes very sour...tom and i tried it...yum!


25th September 2006

That looks fab rach, I'm just replying to my emails! still sat here...Think i will do a blog too...is it easy to set up? Lisa
25th September 2006

You rock
Hey Rachel! I don't know how I get your blogupdates via email, but I do, and I love it! Reading about your travels has been so interesting and inspiring. You look wonderful out there! I'm so glad to see you livin life to its fullest times a million. I mean really, is there any better job than one at a chocolateer? Can we trade places for a tick? I'm in Austin. How bout it? Love,Mercedes
25th September 2006

That a girl Rach! I am sure diving was incredible, the only problem is your first dives were in the most beautiful place on the planet, where will you go next? Thanks for making us all jealous once again, keep in touch!

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb