Hello from Oz


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
May 5th 2011
Published: May 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm about halfway thru my Oz visit. Have been to Melbourne - loved it and did a lot there including a trip to Philip Island where I held a koala and saw hundreds of tiny blue wild penguins coming up the beach to their nests at dusk - loved that! Was not keen on Sydney - didn't help that the weather was bad - but I did go to the beautiful Manly Beach (with the rest of Australia I think) on Easter Monday. That was the only hot sunny day I had there but of course the beach was heaving. Opera House was impressive, as was the bridge, but apart from that Sydney left me cold. Brisbane was OK - hired a car and went up to Noosa Heads which was just lovely - again I think the rest of Oz was there (it happened to be Labour Day so national holiday - I do pick my times don't I? - oh for the beautiful deserted NZ beaches). Some lovely shops in Brisbane! - nice atmosphere in the city centre. But now in Cairns (just been swimming in the lagoon! - gorgeous) and about to experience what I came to Oz for - going to the Great Barrier Reef tomorrow!! - so excited. Next day off to Port Douglas and on Sunday on a tour to rainforests and Atherton Tablelands. Monday off to Alice Springs and Ayers Rock. Then Perth on 14 May - planning to go to Shark Bay and Monkey Mia where the wild dolphins come in close to the shore to be fed (really looking forward to that!). Off to Cape Town on 19th and home on 2 June! (That's my agenda in brief in case I don't do another blog). Really enjoyed THE wedding last week. Hope everyone is well - I hear you are enjoying fantastic weather! Love - Wendy

Advertisement



6th May 2011

Sorry about Sydney
Can't believe you didn't love Sydney - must have been the weather. Melbourne obviously pleased you more. Enjoy the rest of Oz, Wendy, and we'll see you soon
14th May 2011

hello dear nannar!!! really jealous about the great barrier reef love to go there !! :( really looking forward to you coming home weve missed you sooo much. We just a bought a piano as zoe has began to play ! she cant wait to show you her playing it!! miss you see you soon !!!!! XXXXX

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb