Monday 21/7/2009 ...still in Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
July 20th 2009
Published: July 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The meal we had last night was amazing. We decided to take a cab into the centre because time had just ran away with us and I asked the taxi driver 'Woody' where he would reccomend as a good place to eat. He said he personally liked 'Dundees'. It was a smart restaurant on the waterfront and the meals were more expensive than our normal choices but we decided that as it was almost the end of our stay here we would push the boat out a bit.
The menu was really different. I decided to be adventuous and chose the Kangeroo loin as my main course and started with a more conventional clam chowder . Mike had a baby octopus salad as a starter and a main of pork belly. Richard went for a starter of duck spring rolls and his main was a seafood linguini. (I have never seen so much shell fish on a plate, it was more of a seafood platter sitting on pasta)
When the plates arrived they looked like something dished up in the masterchef final. It almost looked too good to eat. I am glad we did though, it was very good. I can't say that I would eat Kangeroo again but at least I tried it. If I had to describe it I would say it was a combination of a fine fillet of beef crossed with liver. Appetising eh? Actually it was better than my description has made it sound, but that may be down to the sauce and accompaniments, they were amazing.

Today Monday was our last full day here in Cairns. We did intend to visit the Flying Doctor centre but in the end we ran out of time and spent most of the afternoon and evening on the Esplanade. We rounded off our day by eating our last seafood dinner in Cairns at the 'seafood restaurant just along from the resort. It has been one of our favourites.

We are off to Darwin tomorrow and should be picking up our camper-van at about 4pm.
No plans as yet we will just have to see what tomorrow brings.
Catch up with you all soon.
Anne. 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb