A sinking economy and a purple toenail


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
December 6th 2008
Published: December 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I STILL DON'T HAVE A JOB!!

I'll get that off my chest right off. Afer the most infuriating job search ever, weeks and weeks of being rejected for STUPENDOUSLY EASY jobs, I have actually managed to land a trial for a pretty awesome gig as a photographer on people's day trips to the reef. This commences next Thursday, the job to start a couple of days later so hopefully I will impress with my boundless enthusiasm and mad camera skills.... it sounds like a really good job so fingers crossed for me!!

When I haven't been tearing my hair out over not being skilled enough to make sandwiches and having to hand in full resumes for a job in a JUICE BAR........ I've joined a netball team (i totally smashed my toenail in my first game), been hanging out with some awesome housies, being chased around the garden by our ever-growing brood of chickens - we're up to 15 now - playing volleyball, reading all the books on the book shelf, being an english tutor to some of the aforementioned housies and doing crosswords. Yes folks, I am living an unbelivable rollercoaster of a life over here in the Southern Hemisphere.........

I have made some observations about Australia though. Like, they heavily advertise tractors. And the tendency to show local adverts has some stunningly awful amateur commercials being shown. Customer service is atrocious, a woman at the bank kept asking me if i understood her when she kept repeating the same thing. Yes my love, English is my first language, what's yours? (It was English, I'm not being really mean). It's really really hot and it feels so very wrong seeing tinsel everywhere - my initial reaction whenever people talk about Christmas (or "Chrissie") is to chide them for talking about it in summertime........ it's getting ridiculous and people are starting to get irritated!

But on that note, Christmas is going to be brilliant. Hollie & Shannon - who run the houseshare I'm living in - we going to go away, but they decided to stick around for the festive season instead, which I'm chuffed about - we wrote down what we wanted to eat and play on Christmas day, and the plan is to eat a lot, drink a lot, have a BBQ where everyone brings a dish (it's the Brie/Tomato/Courgette puff pastry dish for me - anyone who's had it KNOWS!) and hang about in Wayne's pool. It's always good to have a mate with a pool. We even have a Secret Santa going on - but I don't know what to buy for my recipient..... I'm going to make some mulled wine too, providing I can get over the small hitch of not know how to make mulled wine. Is it wrong to drink mulled wine when the lowest daily temperature is 25c?

Anyway, since I started writing this blog, I have gone on the trial for the photography job and obviously my boundless enthusiasm wasn't enough, as it went to the other person who worked the day before me! OH WELL, I was gutted but I solved that with beer, vodka and crappy-music-clubs filled with sweaty backpackers, YUM!!

I'm now at the library, which is just further proof of the nonstop, exciting & colourful life I am leading, going to new places and experiencing new......... experiences.... The job hunting begins anew!! "I am an enthusiastic and hardworking individual, diligent and friendly, if you f-ing losers don't employ me, you will be sorry, believe me....."

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb