Tuesday July 1st - Picking Up The Caravan


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
July 1st 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up and checked out of the hostel. I continued downtown after breakfast checking mail, Facebook and updating my travel blog. After that I went to the bank to check my balance and onto the local travel info place to pick up information on Cape Tribulation, the next place we were planning on going. I text Mike regarding meeting up with me so that we could pick up the car. No reply! I searched the town for him as we had to pick up the car by three O’clock. I had completed everything I wanted to do in town so I wanted to find him and hit the open road. I searched for over two hours for the kid to no avail. I figured his phone was dead so I figured he would try to charge it somewhere or change sim cards with someone so that he could send me a text. The final place to check in town was Peter Pans. I figured he might be able to charge his phone in there. I went into the place and found him sitting on a computer there. Not charging his phone, or making any effort to try and find me but messaging friends on Facebook. I asked him what he had done to try and find me and the only justifiable thing he could come up with was waiting in front of the mall in the hopes that I would come through.

We went over to the van place and began the process. It turns out we needed a 1500 dollar bond on our credit cards for insurance purposes and that we needed to contact our banks to get this done. We went to the mall to try and get this done however it was 2AM back home so nothing was open. We had to settle for phoning the banks late at night when it would be within business hours back home and pick up the van in the morning.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb