Two day tour to Cape Tribulation


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
November 13th 2007
Published: November 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fruit Bats - Daintree RiverFruit Bats - Daintree RiverFruit Bats - Daintree River

Flying foxes in their hundreds
I spent the majority of the last 2 days in the Daintree Rainforest National Park, although it feels like much longer. I have seen too much wildlife to list. My tour included a boat trip on the Daintree river, where we spotted a few crocodiles (only a few small ones, mind), swimming in the beautiful Mossman Gorge, and a walk through the rainforest and mangrove swamp. It has been a fascinating experience. One of the best things I saw were Spectacled Fruit Bats (one of the largest airborne mammals) by the river, roosting in the treetops by their hundreds and screeching to one another. I have seen too many birds and insects to mention, and a goanna, a large monitor lizard right up close in the middle of the path.
The place I stayed at Cape Tribulation was a sort of village resort in the rainforest, with wooden dorm huts around a central pool and bar area, about 5 minutes walk from the beach. I went horseriding from there, which was surprisingly easy for beginners, and a great way to see the scenery, and sea kayaking around the headland. One thing that struck me were the sounds coming from the forest, even audible at sea - a constant chittering of insects and frogs that really gives and impression of how much life there is in there.
There was also a guided night walk through the forest, spotting all manner of forest insects, spiders, amphibians and reptiles. The guide was something of a frog enthusiast, so we saw and heard a lot of different tree frogs.
I have met lots of other backpackers on the tour who will be going the same direction down the coast as I am, so I don't feel so alone now. I can't believe it still hasn't been a week since I arrived, I already feel like I want to move on from here and start heading south.
It has been raining quite heavy in Cairns since I got back, so a visit to the reef in the next few days would not be such a good idea. It seems I may have to visit when I am further down the coast, when the water is calmer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Forest Dragon - Daintree RainforestForest Dragon - Daintree Rainforest
Forest Dragon - Daintree Rainforest

This little beauty is called Boyd's Forest Dragon. I think... I saw lots of these in the forest at night - every dragon has its own small territory, and they sleep like this, clinging upright to a tree.
Mangroves - Daintree RainforestMangroves - Daintree Rainforest
Mangroves - Daintree Rainforest

The mangroves were eerily quiet, but there was always some creature just scuttling out of sight. The vegetation here seemed even more alien than that of the dense rainforest.
Strangler Fig Tree- Daintree RainforestStrangler Fig Tree- Daintree Rainforest
Strangler Fig Tree- Daintree Rainforest

These beasties parasitise other trees, eventually killing them and leaving a hollow stem as the original tree rots away.
Goanna - Cape TribulationGoanna - Cape Tribulation
Goanna - Cape Tribulation

It really was this close! A huge beastie, longer than a metre, I think.
Cape TribulationCape Tribulation
Cape Tribulation

This was PK's jungle resort, where I stayed, during a brief spell of torrential rain.
Cape TribulationCape Tribulation
Cape Tribulation

Kayaking in Cape Trib
Sorrowful Peaks - Cape TribulationSorrowful Peaks - Cape Tribulation
Sorrowful Peaks - Cape Tribulation

That's Mount Sorrow up there, shrouded in cloud.
Daintree Rainforest - Night WalkDaintree Rainforest - Night Walk
Daintree Rainforest - Night Walk

A white-kneed king cricket - the rainforest was crawling with these little gribblies at night.
Daintree Rainforest - Night WalkDaintree Rainforest - Night Walk
Daintree Rainforest - Night Walk

A native cockroach - the friendly variety.
Daintree Rainforest - Night WalkDaintree Rainforest - Night Walk
Daintree Rainforest - Night Walk

A huntsman spider - about 4 inches across.
Daintree Rainforest - Night WalkDaintree Rainforest - Night Walk
Daintree Rainforest - Night Walk

Some kind of tree frog - we saw lots, and I can't remember which type this is.
Alexandra RangeAlexandra Range
Alexandra Range

A view from the Alexandra Mountain range on our return trip


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb