I've arrived Down Unda.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
May 7th 2013
Published: May 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's a beautiful morning in Brisbane Australia as I watch the sunrise from BNE International Airport. The flight from Chicago to Dallas went smoothly. The lady sitting next to me and the couple behind only spoke Spanish so I was able to translate overhead messages and serve as an interpreter with flight attendants. That was pretty neat.
The flight from Dallas to Brisbane was 16 hours long, but thankfully the plane was not even close to being full. No one was in my row so I got to move over to the window and spread out. That made for delightful sleeping (and I had 3 pillows to myself). The rest of the flight was filled with on-demand movies and delicious airline food (it honestly wasn't bad).
The biggest answer to prayers came when we found that we didn't have to have our checked bags go through customs in Brisbane. Many of the ONU team members had foodstuffs in their bags and I personally had probably 25 or so pounds of food that could have potentially been confiscated. This means that I can now eat for several weeks!
It's a four hour layover in Brisbane, then another 3 hours flight to Port Moresby, PNG, then a 45 minute inland flight to Mount Hagen, where we will be picked up by missionaries for our hour-long drive to Kudjip. I'm not sure when I will be able to update next. Hopefully in the next several days! Until then, Cheers! (though it sounds more like "cheese" when they say it Down Under).

Advertisement



9th May 2013

PNG
Brian, I am praying that you have great experiences and that you will remain healthy and safe. We know a missionary pilot in PNG. I'm sure it is a huge place and that the chances of your encountering him or his family is probably remote. But Matt Harris is from Kankakee and his wife, Alyssa, is from NY, I believe. They have 2 young boys. Matt is a mechanic for Mission Aviation Fellowship. I believe they are in or near Sentani. I should have done some research before writing this. Praying for you, Jane

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb