Kangaroo Heaven


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
October 13th 2012
Published: October 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend was full of kangaroos, kangaroos, and a LOT more kangaroos. Alexa and I went to Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary in Brisbane, aka Australia’s most amazing petting zoo.

I knew we’d pet kangaroos and koalas but I had no idea just how much fun it would be. We walked in and there were a bunch of low trees and branches that were COVERED in koalas. I took pictures of individual koalas but I really wish I got a picture of the whole scene so you could see how many there were in this small area. We practically ran to the line to hold a koala because we were so excited! A worker had us place our hands in position then she carefully placed the sleepy koala in our arms. He was soo cute and cuddly! Their fur feels like wool and they were a lot heavier (and smellier) than I was expecting.

Next, we went to the kangaroo field. There were emus walking around in the front of the field and it was so weird to be so close with them. They were even more gross looking up close than they are from far away. We were scared
Koalas are too cuteKoalas are too cuteKoalas are too cute

I think my heart melted a little when the baby crawled over from another branch onto his mama's back
to touch them at first because they looked like they could peck out an eyeball but in no time we were taking hilarious pics with our new best friends.

The kangaroos were by far my favorite part. This huge open field must have had 30 kangaroos just hanging out. We went towards the end of the day, so the sun was setting and there was only a small patch of grass in the sunlight. All of the roos went to this one patch and there weren’t a lot of people left in the park so all of the attention was on us!

They were so adorable up close that I seriously considered stealing one and bringing it back home. Then I realized that they probably have policies against roos riding buses or planes so I had to quickly scratch the idea. They were just like puppies and loved the attention! As soon as they spotted our bags of food they’d all come hopping over to us. I felt like a kangaroo whisperer or something. We spent a good two hours just cracking up while taking a million selfies with these guys.

Aside from koalas, kangaroos and emus there was a platypus, dingo, wombat, croc and a bunch of exotic birds. I put up a Facebook album that has a reasonable amount of the 400 pics that we took (literally) so check it out!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

EmuEmu
Emu

I still can't believe we got this close to that thing
True loveTrue love
True love

I knew I'd find love in Australia!
So many roosSo many roos
So many roos

Alexa and her roo friends just chillen


19th October 2012

HAHAHAH
hahaha this is classic. smelly koalas? that emu is so disgusting i can't believe you were kissing it. but i loled to honestly every picture in that album. that's cool youre a kangaroo whisperer now, too.... loveyamissya<3<3

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb