The journey begins


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
August 4th 2011
Published: October 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Waiting at Brisbane International airport I was nervous, I’d never been out of the country before, hell I’d never even been to Tasmania, and here I was an hour away from boarding a plane set on a 22 hour journey.
Seated on the plane, strapped in and taking off into the beyond it still hadn’t really sunk in. It wasn’t until night fell, then looking into the darkness I see a city of lights below, and it occurs to me that that I have no idea where that is, a completely foreign land, speaking a language that I’ve probably never heard before. What would be their customs, traditions, foods? What would the people there be like? Would they be going about their lives in the same fashion as I do, or something completely different? Are they amidst a war or conflict? And staring out at these mystery lights way below I realized for the first time just how
incredibly far from home I was. I will admit it was the littlest bit scary, but exhilarating at the same time.

After a couple of airport stop-overs we touch down in the UK, and this is to be where my journey begins.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb