Im Just Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay - Wasting Time


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
April 6th 2006
Published: April 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Some things are never meant to be, like me diving a wreck in Australia. I turned up at the dive shop at obscene o'clock in the morning just to be greeted and told "im sorry, i've had to cancel the dive. Too much wind". wimps. I've dived in far worse wind than this. Theres more wind that this the morning after a chilli con carne. I suppose they know best tho... I suppose I will have to save the HMAS Brisbane for another day.

I had a nice breakfast to console myself, an before long I was on a coach to Brisbane where I met up with Hanna (Han Nah), a friend I made in Ayr. We spent the afternoon wandering around Brisbane eating ice cream and enjoying the (lack of) sunshine.

A lot of people have very little nice to say about Brisbane, but I'm not sure why. The architecture is varied - a good mix of the old and the new. There is a nice waterfront area, it's not too expensive and there are a lot of free attractions - museums, galleries etc. Sure, there are no real beaches but this is hardly something lacking in the average east coast journey! I suppose one negative though - it is home to the worlds worst busker. Someone needs to tell this guy that the tamborine is not an established solo instrument for a reason.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 22; qc: 93; dbt: 0.1192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb