Nightmare on Roma st.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
December 1st 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So it's Dec 1st here in Brisbane Australia and I SHOULD be in Phuket Thailand. Due to civil unrest AND bad communication be Thai Airways I discovered my flight was cancelled while AT the Brisbane Airport with my giant backpack (aka my travel buddy) at 10:00pm Saturday night. Hmmm...they couldn't book me another flight, or tell me anything or even find me a hostel/hotel to stay in for the night so after a river of tears I whipped out my sleeping bag and found a bed on a bench. In the morning I found a subway kiosk for breakfast and then booked a YHA on Roma street(yay!!!) to sleep at for 2 more nights until I got all this Thailand jazz delt with. Yesterday was a despressing day for me, where I hid in my quiet empty room and read or slept to avoid thinking about how incredibly lost I felt. Later I watched Forrest Gump in the common room with a full pizza to help me along.
Today I got down to business! 3-4 hours of sitting in a Flight Center we managed to find me a flight leaving today at 2:45....couldn't book with out a CC (reminder that mine is cancelled becuase someone in Vancouver stole the number) and Dad was still sleeping in Phuket. Found another flight tonight at 10:45pm...Credit Card authorizations took too look long and the booking window closed. Finally booked a flight through Singapore for tomorrow. Here's the twist: When cancelling my Thai Air flights I had to cancel BOTH ways which I didnt know. They wont let me into the country without a ticket out for later. I then RAN back to Neil at Flight Center who managed to void the ticket just in the nick of time. "Okay Neil, book me a ticket in AND out of Thailand" BUT becuase I only had authorization for a certain amount from Dad's CC I had to come up with $664 cash. I can't ask the Canadian bank for a higher withdrawl amount because it's Sunday night at home! WONDERFUL.
In the end I managed to withdraw $500, had $65 already and then had $100 traveller cheques. Flights are booked (and cancelled) and tomorrow I am to fly to Thailand. (FINGERS CROSSED)
P.S. I hate money!
Yesterday I bought a mobile phone (aka a Cellphone for you Canadians) so feel free to text me if you can figure out how:
Country code (61) My # (466 628 796)
Wow what a nightmare!

Advertisement



1st December 2008

Cell company
I tried to text you but I need to know what company your cell phone is... cheer up and have a better day!!! Miss you lots!!
5th December 2008

Virgin Mobile
I wont be able to recieve it until I'm back in Aus (Dec 14th...)

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb