So much to do in Australia.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I haven't posted in a couple of days, so I'll just quickly update everyone on what I've been doing. I have been exploring Nick's community. He lives in a great location and has a huge shopping mall/retail shopping area close to his house. I'm still getting over the jet lag a bit so I have just been going to the mall and looking around.

Everything here is sort of like back home except twisted slightly. Instead of office depot they have office works, instead of Burger King they have Hungry Jacks, instead of Wal-Mart they have Big W, instead of driving on the right side of the road the drive on the left, instead of being in love with sports cars they love sports trucks, but they call them Yutes here. Instead of asking, how are you doing, they say how are you going. The list could go on and on. I call it bizarre-o-world. It's not that we do it right back home or they do it wrong here, it's just a different version. I love learning these little differences.

There is a very strong Asian influence in Australia and you find many sushi and noodle bars, which is definitely okay by me. Nick and I went to a noodle bar yesterday and I ordered the "hot box", it was noodles with chicken and shrimp and veg. It burned my face off and I was tearing up and nose running. George likes his chicken hot!

Nick and I are planning some trips right now and we are going to Cairns (pronounced Cans) where we will be scuba diving, white water rafting and fishing of course. From Cairns we are going to Sydney to see the Opera House and hang out on Bondi beach. It is widely known that many women tan topless on this particular beach. I'm a taken man, so I won't be looking but I'll ask Nick if he sees anything interesting. Haha. This beach is reputed as one of the most beautiful in the world. I'll post pictures for sure.

I'm getting tired, so I'm going to tuck in for the night pretty soon. I can't wait to watch another episode of Summer Heights High before bed, it's an Australian version of the office except it is set at a school. It is probably the most hysterical show I've seen this year. Check it out if you get a chance. Other than that, G'Day Mate.



Advertisement



22nd November 2008

Re: Nude Beach--Taken!
Cowboy Jake---- When your on a died you can still look at the MENU
23rd November 2008

Vineyards
I'm going on Tuesday, it's a tour of several different vineyards with tasting and meals included. They drink a lot of sparkling wine here also and they are very refined actually. It easy to detect wild fruit and berry flavours in the bouquet and they are even more pronounced on the palette. My favourite so far has had lychee flavours, very exotic. You should see how inexpensive Wolf Blass wines are here, it’s ridiculous. You can get a good bottle of Shiraz for next to nothing, but I’ve been more into the whites because when it’s 30*C nothing cools you down better than a nice Riesling or Semillon Blanc. Cheers.
23rd November 2008

That's true
You can't stare into the Sun too long south of the equator or you might go blind, that is, unless you have polarised sunglasses. haha

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb