Bored in Brisbane airport


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
September 29th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm Aussie as! One of the highlights of the past week was eating a yummo kebab on Manly beach (NSW) to the sounds of Age of Reason and Land Down Under. Bloody fantastic. And then there's how much I adore the train trip to/from the Blue Mountains. I've now only done it twice and it's weird how perfectly right it felt both times. Past life maybe? Eucalypts as far as the eye can see; and then I can't see very far because I'm all weepy.

Great to catch up with Kha in spectacular Sydney and with my cousin, Karen, in lovely Leura. Unfortunately I couldn't convince Karen's cat, Arnie, that I was too great. Not after our relationship started with me locking Arnie in a room to separate her from, and save, a lizard she had brought in to 'play' with. Apparently my actions were unforgiveable.

In contrast, Angie's dogs in Brisbane were very loving! They must get it from their owner who was very gracious in taking me on a glorious tour of the Sunshine Coast and then to the airport at an unpleasantly early time. I'm surprised that the Glass House Mountains aren't more of an Australian icon. Well, I'm surprised that I'm not familiar with them. They're cool.

Arriving early in Mackay did give me more time to play Leggo with Danielle's three generous, funny and gorgeous children. It meant a lot to catch up with Dan and to watch her being such a fantastic mum. So very impressive.

Queensland warmth, blue skies and space have worked their way into my heart. Though the fact that you can't swim in Mackay's beautiful beaches during the warmer months due to the real deal stinger situation is just heartbreakingly cruel.

So now to see how Darwin rates ...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb