Thoughts before leaving


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
April 22nd 2008
Published: April 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm supposed to be using today to pack all of my things up so my parents can store them for me while I'm away. In four hours I've packed exactly one box of DVDs and CDs. It appears my talent for procrastinating, honed so well at uni, hasn't diminished one iota.

I don't think it's really hit home yet that I'm leaving, or that I'm leaving for such a long time. Erin assures me it'll hit me once I'm on the plane. I hope I'll come to terms with it before that, because although denial is working really well for me at the moment, I don't think it's the best state of mind to be in.

As scary as it is to leave behind my nice comfortable life, I think it's just the shake-up I need. I think I'd become somewhat complacent with my life, content to just drift through, not striving for anything better or more exciting. Now I don't have a choice. And as terrified as I am, I'm also very tentatively becoming excited as I realise more and more that this is the trip I have been dreaming of since I was six years old.

This time in a week I will be further away from home than I've ever been before, and closer to Japan than to Australia. From there it will be just a short hop across Siberia to London and the "official" beginning of my journey.

Advertisement



1st May 2008

Time zone clash
Thanks for the text at silly o'clock Han, I was actually awake when I got it since I was up until 6am working on thesis stuff. An hours sleep then up to catch a train to uni, blah! Anyway, hope you got through passport control ok, I remember feeling like I was getting the 3rd degree when I first flew into London, it was like a round of 20 Qs. Second time coming through was a breeze though :) Looking forward to hearing about your shenanigans on foreign soil ;) Bec xox

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb