to market, to market, to buy a fat hog...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
January 26th 2008
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I Brisbane I managed to meet up with some fellow Canadians (after getting a little lost on teh train). My grade 5 teacher, Paul Singleton and his daughter Krista put me up in Krista's husband's cousins house where I had plenty of free food and a nice bed to sleep in. I was so used to sleeping in the 24 degree heat that the first night I was freezing cold from the air condidtioning in the house. We visited Mt. Coot-tha which has a great view of all of Brisbane. After a fantastic lunch of calimari salad we headed to the markets all along the river (there's a large river that runs through Brisbane and everyone takes the little ferry taxis everywhere). In the middle of Brisbane there's a manmade beach which is very big and very gorgeouse. It's a shame we didn't think to bring swim suits because it was roasting out. Krista has two little boys that she took home after it started to rain, but the rain only lasted fro about 15 minutes.
Brisbane is a beautiful city. Not much for the tourist circuit, but it's a lot like Edmonton in terms of it's national status and the parks system, it woudl make a great place to live. On my last day in Brisbane I had to go and finish up my vaccinations, so I spent the day wondering around the central station area, full of armani suits and nice cars, before catching a bus to Hervey Bay.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb