Study Week


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
June 5th 2007
Published: June 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Around the World PartyAround the World PartyAround the World Party

GO Viking's GO!
It's study week this week and this is what I'm working on :

Skepticism, Science, and the Paranormal -
Essay 1 - Would W.K. Clifford have approved of the modern skeptical movement?
Essay 2 - If you had a friend who believed, "these paranormal beliefs are my personal beliefs, and I don't think I need evidence to hold them.", how might a skeptic respond?
Essay 3 - In his famous essay, "Of Miracles", David Hume produces one artument against belief in Miracles in the first part, and four more in the second part. Explain the arguments, and evaluate them. Does the first render the others unnecessary?

All of them have to be 1400 words.

June 12th - Understanding Environmental Issues Final Exam @ 5:30PM

June 13th - Intro to International Business Final Exam @ 8:30AM.


URHGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH


It really doesn't help that my internet is dead as well.

I have lots of pictures to still put up, but I haven't been able to yet. Here are some to tide ya over...I have more from more recent times but yeah...Enjoy!

P.S. t-minus 18 days! w00t!
Around the World PartyAround the World PartyAround the World Party

We were Sweden!
w00t!

I wish I could just come home for a week, and then come back here...man...teleportation would be SWEET aye?

OH! Also, here's a list of slang that's been used!

chug it = skull it
be sick = spew (i'm going to spew, etc)
lots = heaps
sweet! = sweet as!
weird, wrong = sus (sounds like sauced)
shopping cart = trolly
candy = lollies
Mcdonald's = Macca's
alcohol store = bottle-o, bottle shop
pub = boozer
alcohol = grog
cotton candy = fairy floss, candy floss
breakfast = brekky
spectacular = spekky
bathroom = toilet
elevator = lift
gasoline = petrol
30 pack = cube, slab, carton
thanks = ta, cheers
your welcome = it's ok, that's ok, no worries mate
university = uni
ketchup = tomato sauce (but pronounced toe-MA-TA)
track & field = athletics
mosquitos = mozzies
rice krispies = rice bubbles
music video = film clip
flip flops = thongs
fries = chips
drunk = pissed, wankered
dormitory = college
major = studies
credit card = eftpos
crackers = biscuits
bathing suit = cozzie, swimmas
cheap = dodgie
think = reckon
pitcher = jug
slot machine = pokie
he makes me mad = he gives me the shits
What's up? = How ya goin'?
suck it = suck it
cooler = eski
to have sex with = to root
red haired person = ranga
gay person = fairy, poofta
underwear = daks
Make fun of = pay out, pang out
hippie = bogan (a person who takes little pride in his appearance, spends his days slacking and drinking beer)
Afternoon = arvo
2 weeks from now = fortnight (when I first heard this, I wrote a note to my friend and asked her. She laughed. My excuse was that I was American :P)
beer = amber fluid
Kangaroo = boomer

There has also been much dispute about how American's are crap about pronounciation.
Examples :

American to Australian
tomato (toe-may-toe) to tomato (toe-ma-toe)
no (no.) to no (noerrrr)
banana (ba-nan-a) to banana (ba-na-na)
water (wah-ter) to water (shape mouth in form of word "won"-wao-ter)
bag (b-aa-g) to bag (bah-g)


I've also been having urges to yell out "OYE!" and when in dispute "NOERRRRR". I've also taken to saying trolley, and I reckon, and yeah....Ima have a messed up vocab as well. My typing has gotten royally screwed over. centre,
Formal Dinner at end of Secret Admirer WeekFormal Dinner at end of Secret Admirer WeekFormal Dinner at end of Secret Admirer Week

Cara, myself, Sasha, and Tatiana
globaliSATion, motoriSED, etc.

Hope you all had fun reading this!



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

B'day party at the Down Under BarB'day party at the Down Under Bar
B'day party at the Down Under Bar

Myself, Sasha, Naylyn, and Cara
Anzac TestAnzac Test
Anzac Test

Cara and I
Anzac TestAnzac Test
Anzac Test

The Whole Gang...well, who came on the first bus load
Anzac TestAnzac Test
Anzac Test

PJ and Cara, my hallmates next door!
Pretty FlowerPretty Flower
Pretty Flower

Pretty Flower pic I took
Pretty FlowerPretty Flower
Pretty Flower

Other pretty flower pic
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Standing at Southbank, looking over at Brisbane
Random Bin JuiceRandom Bin Juice
Random Bin Juice

Random Bin Juice night...don't know which one, too many. Just Doug always has his BUCKET of juice. lol...
Hall PartyHall Party
Hall Party

PJ, and his air chair...giving the finger. Because that's how he rolls...lol. Usually a hall party consists of Cara, myself, PJ, and Sasha. Because at least Cara, PJ, and I all live right next to each other. So we just sit in the hall...Lame, I know, but it can be pretty fun/hilarious :D
Hall PartyHall Party
Hall Party

PJ and Cara
Hall PartyHall Party
Hall Party

Sasha sleeping.
Hall PartyHall Party
Hall Party

Cara being weird
Hall PartyHall Party
Hall Party

Doug decided to join us. Pictures 3-5 of hall party are from a DIFFERENT hall party hehe
In MelbourneIn Melbourne
In Melbourne

At the Olde Melbourne Gaol in my cell. YES that is how it's spelled. Went with Cara and her family.
In MelbourneIn Melbourne
In Melbourne

Cara in her cell haha...
Queen Victoria MarketQueen Victoria Market
Queen Victoria Market

In Melbourne at the Market
Queen Victoria MarketQueen Victoria Market
Queen Victoria Market

In Melbourne at the Market at the back entrance by where the veggies and fruit were
Queen Victoria MarketQueen Victoria Market
Queen Victoria Market

Aww, poor kangaroos and bunnies :'( SAD. Wouldn't mind trying some crocodile or kangaroo pizza though...
Queen Victoria MarketQueen Victoria Market
Queen Victoria Market

MMMM BABY OCTOPUS!!! Wouldn't you just love a big scoop of baby octi? I know you would....
Can't remember if I put this...Can't remember if I put this...
Can't remember if I put this...

Max Brenner is AMAZING COFFEE. Everyone go check out his website. AMAZING. YUM. Had this in Melbourne with my friend Cristina!


6th June 2007

question
what is an anzac test? looks like you have a new black/white top--pretty!
10th June 2007

re:mom
anzac test is some footy/rugby thing. it's between australia and new zealand. and that's cara's top she let me wear :)
12th June 2007

Haha I like the suck it = suck it :P

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb