Claire bliss


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
May 2nd 2007
Published: May 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I hugged a koala bear today!! and fed kangaroos and sat near a mommy
kangaroo with a little joey in her pouch for almost a half an hour!
We also saw sheep hearding dogs in action. I love Brisbane a lot.
The only thing it doesn't have is an ocean and a ton of sailing. It
has a ton of frisbee though! I got to play for 4 hours straight on
Wednesday night! I am so soooo sooo sore right now, but it was so
wonderful. It's funny, between frisbee, theater and sailing, when I'm
doing one I miss the other two. Claire's really set up here. I can
see why she's reluctant to go home in July. School is so different
here. She hasn't been to class in a week or so and she's still doing
fine in all her classes. All the classes are huge lecture halls of
hundreds of people and all the lecture notes go up online with only 4
assignments per semester per class. I can also see why people who try
to return back to UR from abroad without a summer in between go crazy,
the culture shock is going back as you always say.

Most nights were spent at South Bank. A giant plot of markets, restaurants and a movie theater. I was also well-timed enough to hit the Brisbane South Bank area for Buddah's birthday. A giant celebration of South Asian cultures complete with dragon dances and choirs holding up the theme of youth and freedom, which is actually two themes, but who's counting? We ventured the markets, tasted the restaurants and saw Spiderman 3 on an IMAX giant screen for only 5 bucks. I love Australia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

the illuminate!the illuminate!
the illuminate!

my favorite bridge!


Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb