Brisbane - It just grows on you!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
March 4th 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My flatmatesMy flatmatesMy flatmates

Bottom: Luca(Italy), Francesca (Ita), Jane(Aus), Ben(German), Jose(columbia). Top: Hassan(Aus), Jana(Ger), Sabrina(Ger), Anjali(Aus), Mayo(Aus), Giuseppe(Swiss)
The first month was kinda slow - the university was empty because of the student break, but since the first week of February the campus is teeming with students and so is our apartment. Last month, almost half of the rooms were empty…but now all rooms full. I made some really great friends with Luca and Francesca from Italy… Alex, Jana and Sabrina from Germany…and of course you already know Giuseppe and Ben! Everyone just clicked - We are a group!!! We eat together every night - drink, watch movie, play Frisbee or soccer or just talk every night. If I am alone by midnight on any day, then it was a bad day. Taking time out from this busy weekly schedule is difficult but we still manage to do it, usually every weekend we go to the ocean, either Noosa, Surfers paradise or Coolangatta…

Barbeque is one of the Australian traditions - and people at 2 O'Connell st (I, me, we, us), being very traditional, keep up this tradition by arranging weekly bbq at the south bank followed by some frisbee in the warm lagoon at the street beach. The South Bank in Brisbane has public bbq and party huts, where there are free gas fired grills. There is no need to carry coal and other things. Just find a grill, press a button and you are ready to grill 😉 Southbank! Southbank! Southbank: This is renovated downtown area - with nice swimming pools, lagoons, artificial beaches, rainforest. You can swim here day and night. Usually, once or twice a week (usually after our weeekly bbq's) I go there with Luca and Giuseppe to swim and play frisbee in the night. The lagoons overlook the downtown skyline.

Brisbane just grows on you. I have been here for about 2 months and I absolutely love it - I don’t want the last month to pass by. I am having the time of my life. Imagine when you are having an incredible vacation - just after you are halfway through the vacation you start thinking about the last day and you dread that in few days the vacation will end. It’s the same feeling, I dread the last day when I have to leave. I don’t want my time in Brisbane to pass by - and even if it does it should pass slowly 😉



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Our weekly bbqOur weekly bbq
Our weekly bbq

Ben, Luca and Francesca. I will never forget Francesca's steak eating style. Some people eat medium rare...or rare...but Francesca eats meat very very very very rarely cooked. Blood is dripping from the sides...
One of the manyOne of the many
One of the many

one of the many evenings (almost every evening) ...when we are sitting in the backyard drinking and talking
Taking a ferry to Uni QueenslandTaking a ferry to Uni Queensland
Taking a ferry to Uni Queensland

I played tennis every week at UQ with Naomi. Sometimes played some squash with Ben and Alex at UQ (they both study at UQ)


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb