Improving my Australian Vocabulary


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
April 16th 2007
Published: April 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My humble abode.My humble abode.My humble abode.

Here is my room. I don't know how I manage to keep it a mess, especially since I don't have anything to mess it up!
Well, as there is not much to report, because the wind at the beach held nothing for me but a face full of sand, I spent most of my time pool-side (and this at a hostel)! Travellers in Australia are mostly American I've come to find, with the odd Swiss and Canadian thrown into the mix. Mind you, this was only my first attempt at being backpacker in Australia, and I've been here for over a month! I couldn't help but laugh at being surrounded by instant noodles or pasta with tinned tomato sauce again, as the staple backpacker meal. I'm glad I'm working, because travelling through Australia isn't cheap! Must keep in mind though, that this is being said after coming from Asia.

So, I've decided to attach a few pictures of my monotonous Monday to Friday life of present. Apart from work, and weekend day trips, I've decided to run in the Queensland 1/2 marathon in the beginning of June, so have been training for that as well.

Here is an Aussie Dictionary of terms (with a few Kiwi terms I've picked up from John and Andrea), Aussie listed first, Canadian English listed second:
1. Ta
My roomies (minus 1)My roomies (minus 1)My roomies (minus 1)

These are my roomates: Claudia, Levi and James, as we celebrate James's 24th Birthday. I live with another girl who is away on holidays.
- Thanks or Cheers
2. I'm munted - I'm beat (This is actually Kiwi slang)
3. I'm rooted - I'm beat, or something worse...
4. How you going - How's it going
5. You're all right - No worries
6. G'day - we just don't say that!
7. Flat mate/House mate - room mate
8. Hire a movie/car - Rent a movie/car
9. Thongs (Aussie), Jandles (Kiwi) - Flipflops
10. Eskys (Aussie), Chilly bins (Kiwi) - Cooler
11. Stubby Coolers - Beer cosy, stubby holder
12. Jumper - Sweater
13. Joggers - Runners
14. Indicator - Tinker, Blinker
15. Mobile - Cell phone
16. Coffee:
Long Black - Americano
Flat White - Coffee with warm milk
17. Bottle-O - Beer Store/Cold Beer and Wine

Australian Receptionist Fashion Tip of the Week: Heels suck when you're trying to race from changing the milk in the coffee machine in the kitchen at the back of the office out to the front to answer the phone. Opt for cute, little flats instead!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Hard atter!Hard atter!
Hard atter!

This is me, Director of First Impressions, holding down the fort...
Go Reds!!Go Reds!!
Go Reds!!

My friend Jenny and I at the Reds Super 14 Rugby game. The Reds are the local Brisbane team.


19th April 2007

Ahh the memories! Your vocab lesson reminded me of all the things I came to know well! Glad you're enjoying yourself! You can't cheer for the Reds though... I'm a Waratah's fan... go NSW! hahah :)

Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb