Cruising the City


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
March 19th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Window to the WorldWindow to the WorldWindow to the World

From the rotunda at Kangaroo Point Cliffs
Brisbane City



Musings from several city trips.


I have one day a week without the older girls, so it is just me and the baby cruising the city!! It has been quite nice to go and walk in the city, something I haven't done in a long time.


Taking our students up to the Rotunda at Kangaroo Point to take photos of the city. We regularly have international students so on the first day they arrive we usually take them up there as it is a good spot to see Brisbane and take photos. I tried to take a Panorama shot of the city (see photo's) taking in the whole 90 degree view from the Rotunda.


We are often the star attraction for Asian tourists and last week was no exception. The girls wre sitting in the window of the rotunda and some tourist started taking photo's. Then some went up there to pose inbetween the girls. Then some man grabbed my baby out of my arms and started having his photo taken with her. I knew he meant no harm so I just laughed, but he didn't even ask. Then he
Stolen BabyStolen BabyStolen Baby

These Chinese people just grabbed baby out of my arms and started taking photos
grabbed my arm and pulled me into the photo's. Well that started it all didn't it. about 10 other people on the same bus wanted a photo like that too. Then they started picking up my older children and putting them on their hip to have a photo with them. Miss 6 is a poser and starts smiling for the camera's but miss 4 kicked the man and ran away to me crying! I told them that she was shy. One lady kept saying 3.. 3? I say yes 3 girls. Maybe that is unlucky in China I suppose as they would like sons. I said yes 3 daughters I am so lucky!! This group were particularly cheerful and kept speaking Chinese at me and I would talk back in English. We were having a wonderful conversation I am sure!! This went on for 10 mins until they had to hop in their bus and yet another bus takes their spot, but the next group weren't so interactive!


I have met my brothers and sister in town for lunch a few times lately. On the last trip I saw this guy (see photo, but it doesn't do him!)
LunchLunchLunch

Japanese Restaurant in Spring Hill. $8.50 gets you soup, rice, sushi, water, and a dish of your choice - I had Gyoza
He was wearing old school speed skates, stripey red and black socks pulled up, pink short jumpsuit (which was open at the front showing his hairy chest), beard, long greasy hair in a pony tail, and Dame Edna Glasses on. He was rollerskating with a big stereo on his shoulders. He was a good skater and that stereo must have been heavy. The funny thing was that there was a Boost chocolate bar stand and their were models dressed up in purple and white on 80's style rollerskates giving away boost chocolate bars. I heard this lady say to the guy "Oh are you part of the Boost thing?" (He obviously wasnt - bad teeth, food in his beard etc, hadn't washed in some time looking) To which he said "Oh, no, but I should hey? Make some money!" It was so funny and he was one cool dude marching to his own beat as they say.


I also had lunch with my sister and brother at a pretty cool Japanese Restaurant that is pretty cheap. It is called Bishamon Japanese Restaurant 500 Boundary Street Spring Hill. The Lunches cost $8.50 and come with soup, rice, salad and 2 sushi. They have Katsudon, Gyoza, Terriyaki, Seafood and lots of others to choose from.


I have enjoyed taking lots of photo's around the city... hope you enjoy them too!


I will be cruising the city some more!



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

City 1City 1
City 1

From rotunda at Kangaroo Point Cliffs
City 2City 2
City 2

From rotunda at Kangaroo Point Cliffs
City 3City 3
City 3

From rotunda at Kangaroo Point Cliffs
City 4City 4
City 4

From rotunda at Kangaroo Point Cliffs
City 5City 5
City 5

From rotunda at Kangaroo Point Cliffs
Walking FeetWalking Feet
Walking Feet

Just trying to be artistic!!
WalkwayWalkway
Walkway

City from Mowbray Park City Cat Terminal
Window to the World 2Window to the World 2
Window to the World 2

From rotunda at Kangaroo Point Cliffs
CliffsCliffs
Cliffs

From Kangaroo Point rotunda
The people you meetThe people you meet
The people you meet

This man had on old school roller skates, stripey socks, pink jumpsuit, dame edna type sunglasses, a beard and long hair in a pony tail, carrying a stereo on his shoulder
Bridge DetailBridge Detail
Bridge Detail

Story Bridge
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Kangaroo Point
City Cat MapCity Cat Map
City Cat Map

Brisbane
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Kangaroo Point
East ViewEast View
East View

From Kangaroo Point


3rd April 2007

I'm a Brisbanite living in the UK at the moment and enjoying this slice of everyday life there. Photos are great. Keep it up!

Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb