An afternoon in Brisbane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
March 4th 2007
Published: March 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ChinatownChinatownChinatown

Looking up, I realised that we just might be in Chinatown
First part of the two day trip to get to Palau takes me from Nadi in Fiji to Brisbane, Australia. After a four hour flight, we have a 7 hour stop over in Brisbane so we check in our bags and hop into a rental car to go into town to see something. This is my first time in Australia and I am determined to see something other than the airport. It only takes about 20 minutes to drive into town and find somewhere to park - easy!

We end up in a lovely pedestrian area, which seems to be in the middle of Chinatown and also packed with cafes. It's very sunny and hot and wandering around the cafes and shops I can begin to see why so many Brits move to Oz. It's a lot like the UK - only with better weather! After a little while wandering around the getting up at 5 am to catch my flight starts to take its toll, so we pick a cafe to settle in, drink iced cappucinos and, of course, e-mail.

It's all very relaxing which is exactly what I needed. Although I've only seen a tiny tiny part
Chinatown2Chinatown2Chinatown2

Yep, definitely in Chinatown I reckon...
of Brisbane, it looks like a really nice place, by the sea, clean, with good weather, good shops and lots and lots of cafes and restaurants. As the afternoon wears on, live music starts up in a number of places and the woman singing in the little cafe I've sat down in is particularly good. If I get the chance I think I could easily spend a weekend exploring here and if the local shops are anything to go by (check out the photo) it could be a very interesting time...alas for now it's all over and it's time to get back to the airport. Next stop Guam.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Chinatown3Chinatown3
Chinatown3

And just in case there was any doubt...it really was a lovely place with the trees providing much needed shade
Chinatown4Chinatown4
Chinatown4

One last photo of Chinatown
Brisbane cafesBrisbane cafes
Brisbane cafes

The street of many cafes...a paradise of sorts and certainly the place to be on a hot Sunday afternoon
Brisbane shopBrisbane shop
Brisbane shop

That interesting shop I was talking about...I love the name


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb