Finals!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » St Lucia
June 12th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Whew! I'm a little exhausted... Taking five classes is not really a problem, until it comes to finals. I always seem to forget that part, and am continually taking 5 classes at a clip each semester. You'd think I'd learn.

However, UQ is really nice in that you've got a study week to prepare for finals. I was initially hoping to get lots of travel done during SWOT-VAC, but no such luck. I figured I couldn't well go off on holiday having to write three major papers and prepare for two exams. I wrote lots during my study week. I was wondering why I was so tired all the time, but Nell figured I wrote 5 pages a day (I really didn't do much work on 2 of my study days--too burned out), which doesn't even factor in the amount of research and reading I had to perform for the papers as well. O__o That was a lot of writing, and I'm glad to be done! I even handed in my papers a little early (I basically couldn't stand looking at them any longer, so I handed them in a day or two early). It felt good to be done with them, and I was fairly satisfied with my results. Hope I get good marks!

After all the paper-writing, I really didn't want to do any work. I had to, however. I spent evenings after writing papers, and once I was done writing, all my days, outlining and studying for Marine Science. Although that class ended up being the biggest disappointment at UQ class-wise (very disorganized, non-enthusiastic profs who gave terrible presentations, although the field trips were fantastic), I reckoned I'd better be prepared anyhow. I spent time trying to get myself to study, and being un-enthusiastic about my favorite subject (depressing). I finally got motivated and did get study done (yaaay), and am very glad that I'm done with that class.

I prepared well for bagpipes twice in a row, and rather blew Duncan away playing my first song ('Scots Wha Hae')--I think he was impressed with how I'd played, which was fantastic because he only gives compliments if you deserve it. It wasn't too bad for my first song! I moved on to my next tune, Waltzing Matilda (of course!). Duncan's got things all set--first learn Scotland's unoffical national anthem, then Australia's. First, song nearest and dearest to those in the land of pipes, and next the song nearest and dearest to those whose country we're in. As I only prepared half of Waltzing Matilda for this week, and had to have a short lesson because I wanted to study for MARS, I was assigned the 2nd half for next week and handed more music to peruse at my own leisure.

I'm super excited for learning pipes! It's heaps of fun. ^__^ It's sad that next week (this upcoming Tuesday) will be my last at pipes. I'm proud to say I've come decently far, considering I started half way thru the semester and have been very busy this year at UQ. Hopefully I'll keep it up--Mom's taking my chanter to Westbrook, and I aim to practice heaps in the evenings when I'm at work.

Now that I'm done with papers and MARS, all I've got left is my last final--genetics. I'm a little upset that the timing wasn't better--if my hardest exam wasn't last, I'd definitely be traveling right now. However, I can't neglect genetics (which I've actually determined was my favorite class, much to my own surprise--the professors made the class. Except for our last lecturer, who was just a little dry, they were all fantastic!). I've spend every day since finishing MARS on Wednesday holed up in my room, outlining lectures. I've done heaps so far, and I'm really cranking thru my work. Hopefully I'll be done by tomorrow evening or Friday morning, so that I can start to study my outlines.

One thing that I'm excited for is my last traveling huzzah. Although I'm not going far, I don't want to leave Aus without going on one last little trip. I'm going to go to Springbroke National Park this upcoming Monday for the day, with Bushwacker Ecotours again. I'm excited! There are glow-worms, King Parrots and a lovely 3 km hike. I'm excited! ^__^ I also hope to go to Lone Pine with Suzi on Saturday or Sunday before we leave for the US. That should be fun! She hasn't been yet, and even though it will be my 3rd time, Lone Pine is lovely and lots of fun. Yay for my last little bit of fun around the beautiful city of Brisbane!

I'm definitely going to miss it here. Brisbane is lots of fun, and a nice city to live near (although quiet, it's quite manageable and very easy to navigate, with lots of good things to do, like Pancake Manor ^__^). I'm sad that I'm not going to get a chance to see Whachope, Nell's town. Her mom is convinced that I'm going to come (and I'd love to!) but I totally can't. Katy's going home with Nell, however, and they should have lots of fun. Evidently Nell's aunt is raising a calf, which Katy and Nell are going to hand feed. I bet it's adorable.

The only thing in Australia I'm not going to miss is going to be the IH food. I'm over it. It'll be very nice to have edible food again. Hopefully Mom and/or Jon can let me help out around the kitchen and we can have some nice food (any meat that isn't mysterious chop in brown sauce would be lovely... and please not anything like the lentil and chicken lasagna they had tonight. X__x I tend to go vego most meals because at least undercooked vegetables are crunchy but not raw meat...).

I'm really going to miss IH life. It's fantastic to have my mates all so close by, and to have the time to actually enjoy their company. It's been fantastic to be able to get together for at least 1 1/2 or 2 hours at least most every night. We all enjoy each other's company, and even doing nothing and just sitting is fantastic. I'm going to miss my mates a lot! 😞 Well, I guess it gives me a big excuse to come back to Aus and visit them. I would love to see Casey and her parents again, and I hope I'd still be able to redeem my 'visit Whachope' invitation. ^__^

I'm also going to miss Aussie food. Namely, vegemite (but I've sent a big thing back with Jon, and have a mini-one for my time at FHL), Tim-Tams (why we don't have them in the states is a mystery), Cadbury chocolate, and greek yoghurt (however, Thea tells me that does exist in the US. I'll have to make a Trader Joe's run back in WI).

I've also determined that I'm going to have a heart attack when Jon drives me back, because I'll try to get into the driver's seat in order to sit passenger, and the cars will all be driving 'the wrong way.' I'm going to totally flip. O__o Also, hearing the American accent is going to throw me for a loop. I don't hear Australian accents any more, and don't notice the accents of my American friends as much (they're definitely not as strong as they used to be). Occasionally when I call home and talk to Jon or my parents, I hear them say certain words and just laugh to myself a little. I'm going to have to get re-adjusted to American accents again...

I'm also going to miss the birds down here. I've gotten accustomed to hearing magpies, and although I get just a little bit excited still if I hear a kookaburra, I've gotten used to their calls. Hearing birds at home in WI when I was on the phone home sounded a little strange, just because they're different from Australian birds. Though I expect the crows at FHL will be just as loud and obnoxious as the ones here, I'm almost certain they call differently, and that will certainly throw me for a loop (there are soooo many crows here, and they are really loud all the time).

I'm very excited to be seeing my family again, and to have Jon's parents (finally!) meet mine. I've really missed my folks, and I'm excited to catch up with my parents and my siblings (hopefully some grandparents and aunts/uncles/cousins too!). Although I'm only in CT for a short time, I really need to see them all. It's been a long time...

Anyhow, that's about it for now. It's been very busy in terms of study, but nothing really exciting has happened. I'll be sure to write more soon and let you know about my trip!

Advertisement



12th June 2008

Emmy! I can't wait to see you; good luck with the studying! <3 XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO
17th June 2008

Emily i am so excited for you going home! I read this and I have a suggestion. You should do a study of crows, compare the crows back home to the ones here, they really do sound different in Qld and NSW, they must sound really different between countries.........weeeeird! The best part of conducting that study could be staying here. HOORAAAAAAAAAAY!

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb