Today I went to the beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Moreton Bay
May 7th 2009
Published: May 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Just as the title says.......
Have had a quiet week here in Brisse. Ross, Stef and Jen left last weekend to head up the coast while I stayed behind mainly to save my funds for Cairns where I wanna go scuba diving 😊
So I've been kicking it back with Mik, watching his fav NRL team, the Broncos and learning the skills of the Wii. Took a trip to the local pub, The Brooke and I got lost in another Ozzie Mall (seriously, these places are mazes). Oh and I've sampled the much-loved Brissie pie, thumbs up. In return I found us some Irn-bru, unfortunately the boys are undecided, they don't seem to have the same passion, even when I informed them it was made from girders! Have also been treating Mik to some proper home-made food, poor laddie, although he genuinely seemed to enjoy my spag bol.
Anyway today we took a trip to the Brisbane coast, just North of Moreton Bay, to a place called Redcliffe. Funnily enough, Captain Cook named the place after the red cliffs there - imaginative guy eh. We took a wee walk along the beach, looking for the shark that nabbed someone's dog off the pier once upon a time (no luck) and stopped into the local RSL for a coffee and cake (just me). On the way back we stopped off at the most unsuitable 'childrens' playpark, a disaster waiting to happen. We had a wee go too.
So this weekend I'm heading up the coast on the famous Sunlander Train to Bundaberg to meet the guys, home of Bundy Rum and a lot of turtles. Then we're thinking of fitting 4 people in a 2 berth van for a week or so, sounds like fun! Remember we're on a budget, every little counts.
See y'all soon!

P.S. also included are some pics from the Dam at Wallangarra. I truly left my heart in Wallangarra, tis the 8th wonder of the world......


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb