A Week in Brisbane


Advertisement
Published: March 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Brisbane Wheel Brisbane Wheel Brisbane Wheel

There is a giant Ferris wheel in the middle of the Southbank Parklands in downtown Brisbane.
Way back at the beginning of March I arrived in Brisbane, my next stop after Noosa. I was only planning to stay in Brisbane for a few days since I still had a lot of ground to cover before arriving in Melbourne on the 21st. Funny how a few days can turn in to a week.


First, I met some cool people at the hostel. The hostel actually had a good vibe for meeting people, unlike some of the hostels I’ve stayed at. So I made friends with a few people. Then the second day or so I was there it poured rain. It continued to pour rain for the next few days. In fact, the entire east coast was getting dumped on so I didn’t see much of a point in getting to the beach since it was going to be raining anyway. Plus my room rate at the hostel in Brisbane was pretty good.


Brisbane is the third largest city in Australia and much larger than any place I had been since leaving Sydney way back at the end of January. So it was kind of nice to be back in a city with a
Water DragonWater DragonWater Dragon

These lizards were everywhere in the Botanic Gardens right in the middle of the city.
little bit of character to it. There are some free art galleries, which despite all the rain and boredom I never visited. I’m not much in to art anyway…I usually just stand there being confused and frustrated by the art. Anyway, there was a pretty decent museum that I visited a few times. Although it only takes about 2 hours to do the whole thing.


There is a free lagoon (basically an artificial beach and a salt water pool) that I visited on the first day. There is also nicely manicured walks along the river and a botanic garden in the city. On my last day in Brisbane it actually wasn’t raining so I was able to walk around the river in the middle of the city for a bit. Brisbane has a lot of night life but since it was raining so much no one from my hostel really went out so we just sat around in the pouring rain drinking goon (cheap wine in a box. It’s about $11 for 4 liters!)



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Brisbane River Walk Brisbane River Walk
Brisbane River Walk

The grounds around the river are well manicured and feature modern, attractive architecture.
Random FlowerRandom Flower
Random Flower

I'm not sure what this is called but it is a popular ornamental around Australia.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb