Birds, Bats and Beds!


Advertisement
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I hadn't realised how long it had been since I updated until I re-read my last entry! I'm heading into my third week of working for WorkCover QLD, it was incredibly boring at first, they had me standing in front of a photocopier for the first two days solid! I was not impressed, I feel I've paid my dues as a gopher already, and they certainly aren't paying me enough to put up with it. However, needs must as the devil drives, and if I wanted a flat, I had to have money. Now it's just stressful, these people are so far behind that they can't even take time to train me, which means I'm not helping out as much as I'm sure I would be able to. Oh well, twill do til something better (or at least better paid!) comes along.
Myself and Ann continued to slog all over the place looking for a flat right up until the day before she left to go skiing in NZ for almost 3 weeks! We had decided that we liked the look of one place in particular - Racecourse road - so we stuck to flats in that area after a few times of visiting places and saying "It was ok, but I preferred that other area more!" One day we were power-walking out to yet another viewing when Ann got dive-bombed by two birds! It was so funny, we were pegging along this path that had a load of overhanging trees, I could see something coming along the path, but I couldn't quite make out what it was. Just as I figured it out, Ann looked up, saw the two birds flying straight at her head and ducked just in time. I would have laughed my socks off, but I was too out of breath from the power-walking!
But it's ok, Nature caught up with me too. As I said in my last entry, I moved to a new hostel, Brisbane City backpackers. Cool place, bottles of wine for $12, which considering glasses go for about $8, was pretty good. It has a bar on site, nice eating area, ensuite rooms, although the big pool they talk about in their brochure is a massive exaggeration! All-in-all, I was impressed with it, certainly after experiencing the crapness of Chill! The shower did break, and was broken for nearly a week, but there were showers downstairs by the pool that I could use. Seeing as I was up at 7 every morning to go to work, I actually felt better about not disturbing the others in my room. Met some fun people there, Steve from Geelong, who is actually going to be living in Brissie. He cooked for myself and Ann for two nights, and lent me his doona (duvet) when he headed back to Geelong for a while, which I'm still using, so we'll definitely be keeping in contact with him! Jase from the UK, who works in Gilhooley's Irish pub in the CBD. Yes, I broke my winning streak, I have finally been into an Irish pub abroad. Only to get the practically free drinks from Jase, though, so I think I shouldn't have to count that one! I went there with four other english people I met in the hostel. I met Suzanne and Joe first, and then their friends Paul and Cheryl arrived down the next day. We all headed into the CBD on the party bus from the hostel, and then strolled home around 12.20 that night. As we walked up a small hill not too far from the hostel, the bush next to us rustled and next out burst this huge fruit bat! Put the hearts across us, wheeled up and around and headed back our way - we nearly killed ourselves trying to run and tripping over each other. Pity there's no tape, it'd be hilarious!
Ok, I'm writing this during my lunch break at work, and that's done now, so I have to cut this short. Those of you on Facebook know I have a flat, I'll give all the goss on that soon, as well as my cool neighbours! Peace, out!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb