Brisbane, Australia


Advertisement
Published: July 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I ended up completely bypassing Surfers Paradise. It looked horrible. Fill of high risers, macdonalds and dingy bars. Not what I imagined at all, so kept on the coach and headed for Brisbane.

I met an Irish girl from my room, and then headed to see Natasja who I met in Auckland. We jumped onto the City Cat ferry and took a tour of the river around Brisbane and checked out several places. Brisbane looks its best at night with all the lights I think. We ended up going into China Town and having dinner and before we knew it, the evening was late and nearly over.

The next day, was amazing. The morning didn’t start off great, as I has to trek to Vodafone in the rain, plus I got rubbish sleep. Me and the irish girl, Alex went to the koala Santuary, Lone Park. Absolutely hundreds of koalas everywhere, dozing off into sleep or eating. I got to pick one up, and he was my favourite. Little Kakadu wasn’t so little though. He was really heavy and smelt quite bad! BUT it was really cool to cuddle him and stoke him. We then went to feed the kangaroos. I soon picked a favourite which I aptly named Skippy. You can literally sit down next to them and hold your hand out and they eat from your hand. Some of them were a little scary and gave you some funny looks before hopping over. Quite scary to walk into the middle of them, because I still have the image of Tom and Jerry episode when Tom got into a boxing match with a Kangaroo.

I also saw Dingoes, Wombats, Crocs, Kukaberra and bats. Really amazing day. I really liked Brisbane, and I think it had a lot to do with the koalas and not the actual city itself.

Getting ready now to check out and head for Noosa!



Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb