Golfing-Day 56


Advertisement
Published: April 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=26506&l=a7a07&id=503645207
Today I woke up at 8 because it is impossible to sleep in anymore. I phoned the labour hire company right away to see if there was work. There wasn't any. I went and grabbed some food and checked my mail/facebook. We had already planned if we did not get work we would go golfing. I did some research before Mike got up. I found out about St. Lucia Golf Club. It is a municipal owned golf course and was designed by Allister Mckenzie, the same designer as Augusta National. I found out what bus we were supposed to take and where to get it but we found another bus that was supposed to go to the university of Queensland St. Lucia. Turns out the school isnt actually in St. Lucia. We ended up havin a 20 minute walk to the course. The course is actually run by a golf chain similar to Bob Martins. I rented a nice set of Callaway clubs, paid for the round and got some tees. Ended up costing 60 bucks. The course was short but fairly well designed. Not too much difficulty tee to green, but the greens had run offs everywhere and massive teers with big slopes between. You could tell the course had been changed from the original design. The round was awesome though. I hit the ball really well and we met a chef from Brisbane who told me of some good cultural eats in town. After the round the chef had to pick his wife up downtown so he gave us a lift into town.

Once intown I called a Korean girl that I met at the hostel named Jamie. I had talked to her a couple days earlier about trying new cultural food. She said she would take us to a very good Korean restauraunt. I phoned her and she said it would be alright to go tonight. She took us to a restaurant called Gaya. It had a really grungy entrance, I had seen it before but never thought about going. We went upstairs to the main floor and the restaurant was actually really really nice. I ended up getting YukGaeJang, which is beef brisket soup with a bowl of kimchi and a bowl of rice. The serving was massive. I was completly filled by it which I did not expect. It also had really different flavours. The soup was a fairly spicy chili bowl, the kimchi was also flavoured with chili. There was a little side salad I got though which had a pear dressing which was different but really good. That whole thing only cost 11.90!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb