And She's Off


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Bowen
January 2nd 2008
Published: January 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well the time has finally come for me to set off on my new adventure.


It's been a long time coming. Lots of planning, booking, packing, selling furniture, my car etc. Add to that the usual craziness that comes at the end of a school year and Christmas time and you can understand how busy I've been. I'm sure I've no doubt forgotten to do something, or say goodbye to someone...so sorry if that's the case...but oh well...life goes on.


I spent the week after work finished packing up and moving out of my lovely 'teacher's flat' in West St, Bowen. It was then time to load up both my car and my flatmate's and head off to my parent's place in Haliday Bay, Mackay, where I had the fun task of trying to fit all my worldly possessions into their house and not make it look like a complete mess (just don't open the wardrobes!).


Christmas was a quiet, casual day spent with my parents and some of their friends at Haliday Bay. There were lots of travel products under the tree for me this year...all of which I'm sure I'll put to good
BowenwoodBowenwoodBowenwood

This sign was painted when the movie 'Australia' starring Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman was filmed in Bowen in mid 2007.
use.


The days after Christmas were mainly spent watching cricket and organising those few last minute things that I hadn't thought of doing earlier. It was then back up to Bowen for New Years and my friend Donna's 40th. It was a great night and as usual things got a little messy at the end (I'm still not sure why I ended up sleeping on the couch instead of in a nice comfy bed???).


New Years Day I made the final drive back to Mum and Dad's for my last 2 nights in Queensland.


Now with my car sold, bags packed, passport ready and tears under control, it's off to the airport for my trip to Melbourne. I've got 4 days there with my good friend Rachael and her family before the long-haul flight to Vancouver. 3 weeks in Canada, followed by a 3 week tour of Europe, then it's back to some sort of routine and hopefully a job teaching in Essex.


Here's a few pics of the beautiful area I'm leaving behind...and will come back to someday.


Until the next post...Happy New Year everyone. Keep in touch.


Tamara


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Islands off BowenIslands off Bowen
Islands off Bowen

North Head (foreground), Stone Island (background), Gloucester Island (back left). Taken from Flagstaff Hill.
OutriggingOutrigging
Outrigging

Our usual rest stop at Gray's Bay on an unusually overcast morning.
Haliday Bay localsHaliday Bay locals
Haliday Bay locals

This is 'Matilda' the wallaby and her new joey 'Molly' in Mum and Dad's backyard. She comes up at least twice a day to nibble the grass and any other treats left for her.
Christmas morningChristmas morning
Christmas morning

Mum, Dad and I prior to the presents being opened.


2nd January 2008

Dudette, you are the best packer ever...love you!! stay safe and in contact!!!

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb