Kelli, Kangeroos and Australia Zoo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Australia Zoo
December 11th 2008
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After seeing the sunrise I caught my bus to Brisbane. I pottered around for a bit then caught a train back up north to a town called Caboolture to see Kelli, who I met when I was in Canada.

I found her hard at work and waited a couple of minutes for her to finish. We set out to drive even further up north to Caloundra (all this going down and up was the best option I promise!) to where Kelli was house sitting. During the drive I said that I wanted to see more kangeroos in the wild, so she drove me to some! There were about 20+ just hanging out on the grass by the sea. I got so excited but Kelli was convinced they would attack us with their sharp claws. We were fine though!

The following day we headed out to the Steve Irwin memorial - Australia Zoo. I found all the stuff with the family on a bit weird, it's great that Steve is living on but I found all the stuff with the kids quite creepy.

All the animals were beautiful especially the koalas, I really want to find one in the wild before I leave Oz. The croc show wasn't quite as good as the croc feeding I saw up north but the driver had said it wouldn't be! The zoo wasn't as big as I thought it would be but they're planning on making it 4 times as big over the next 7 years.

I managed not to buy any stuffed animals, I wanted to buy something from the shops but the stuff was just too takky! Love it.

In the afternoon we went to see High School Musical 3 which I've been trying to see for weeks! Brill. We got home and watched the first two, not overly Australian...

Today however, I went to see Baz Luhrmann's "Australia" - is this out at home? I hadn't seen it advertised before I went away. It was very good and I got to learn a bit about Aboriginal culture and Australian history. A week or so I go I went through Bowen where they filmed it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb