Mount Hotham Vacation


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Mount Hotham
August 13th 2014
Published: August 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

When I first saw Mount Hotham , I wasn't sure what to expect. This 1,862 meter peak offers plenty to do for even the most casual tourist, so I knew I'd be in good hands.

Attractions

Mouth Hotham offers more than 320 hectares of slope for skiers of all experience levels, so even though I'm hardly an expert, there was plenty to do. More than 13 lifts dot the terrain, carrying skiers from the bottom to the top at a number of locations, which made it really easy to get where I needed to go. There are three terrain parks, dog sled tours, snow mobile riding, and even tobogganing. It seemed that as soon as I tired of one activity, another popped up to take its place.

Restaurants

At the end of the day, when I was worn out from the slopes, I had my choice of more than 18 bars and restaurants. If I had to recommend anywhere in particular, I'd say The Last Run Bar. The service was great and the atmosphere was very laid back and friendly. It's just an added perk that the price range is well within affordable limits. There's even a kids menu for those with small children. Another great choice would be The White Room, especially for the atmosphere. It's much more high class, but with a full seven course meal, it's hard to go wrong. The cocktails at the White Room are absolutely delicious, as well.

Accommodations

When nighttime came, I was more than happy to crawl into my bed at the Mount Hotham Alpine Resort. It's the least expensive location for accommodations, but still very nice and comfortable. It tends to cater to a snowboard/ski oriented crowd, so I felt right at home among other patrons. However, there are a number of other locations to stay at including the White Crystal Apartments, Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge, and Arlberg Mt. Hotham. If you plan to stay here, make sure to reserve a destination well ahead of time. Mount Hotham can get rather packed come ski season.

Getting There

As they say, the journey is half the fun. Mount Hotham isn't exactly easy to get to. While you can drive there, it's usually easier to fly. I took an aircraft charter through Adagold (who just started offering the service), which leaves from Sydney and Melbourne and lands directly at the Hotham Airport. The trip was only 80 minutes from my departure point at Sydney. Reports state it's only 45 minutes if you fly out of Melbourne.

While an aircraft charter might be a bit more expensive, the time you save on travel is well worth it. It's a smooth flight, meaning you'll be refreshed and ready to hit the slopes as soon as you arrive.

No matter when you head for Mount Hotham, make sure to arrange all of your accommodations and gear reservations well ahead of time. There is a limited supply, and these go fast when the slopes open up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb