Aboriginal Original


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

July 17

A local guide takes us back the the rockhole water site and we get to see some Aboriginal rock drawings as well. We also get to go to the culteral center and do our own Aboriginal dot style paintings. What fun and some of the local artist are in the studio as well. I just happen to find a painting that I really like and the painter is in the shop, her name is Angela too and I find this an omen to buy her painting. I also like the idea the 90% of the money goes directly to her not to others. She argees to have a picture taken with me and the painting.

We are on our way to Alice Springs and we stop to visit the the remarkable Standley Chasm . Standley Chasm (Angkerle) is Aboriginal Land and is bordered by the West MacDonnell National Park. Standley Chasm cuts through the tough quartzite to form a picturesque natural alleyway.

We also stop for a short walk back to see Simpson's Gap. As the name implies it's a gap in the mountain range. The beautiful rock cliffs and the lush valley with Ghost gum woods are an oasis in the desert. There is water here today but this is not the norm. It's winter here although the temps are in the 60's to 70's during the day and 40's at night.
There is more rain now than there is in the summer.

I am dropped off at my lodging in Alice Springs, the Aurora Hotel. Myself and Warren and his wife Judith Ann will be going together on the train tomorrow and we are staying here the night. I quickly drop off my stuff and hurry to the grocey store for food for dinner and snacks. Back to the hotel to do my laundry and write. I don't want to do anything else, I need a relaxing afternoon and evening with comfort food, a warm soft bed and a hot shower.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Hand Prints from long ago peopleHand Prints from long ago people
Hand Prints from long ago people

Could be 5-6 hundred or more years old.
Alien Aboriginals?Alien Aboriginals?
Alien Aboriginals?

Can you see the spaceship in the rock?
Angela and AngelaAngela and Angela
Angela and Angela

One an artist and one not!!
Burned on  PurposeBurned on  Purpose
Burned on Purpose

Controled burning to make nature fire breaks to prevent forest fires..
Pink QuartzitePink Quartzite
Pink Quartzite

I look good on it or it looks good on me ? HUH??


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb