Still Katherine


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I can't remember where I was up to in the last blog so I'll have to wing it. Get it? I'm on an Air Force base with planes. Wing. Get it? Never mind.

I'll start with Saturday. After a magnificent Friday night football come from behind victory for the Bombers, I was nursing a victory hang over on Saturday. Dutch's cricket team had a Thirty30 game that arvo & I played. Well if you call one dropped catch, three overs for zero wickets (two easy catches dropped - one from a slip!) & a lot of mid strength beer "playing" then I sure did. We got a win & gave each other plenty of stick so that was good. The Mum's & kids went for a swim at the RAAF base pool & played at a park or two after giving the cricket a miss once Dutch dropped a sitter on the boundary. Sort of set the tone for the day catching-wise. I think we collectively dropped 10 legitimate chances.

On Sunday we had the laziest of days at the base pool & gave the Wii a good flogging which was fun for us all. That night we went to the local country club for dinner & that is where the trouble began. I went to pay for our dinner & was told my credit card was declined. I had plenty of credit which made me a little puzzled so I tried the savings account instead. Also declined. Very weird. I spent the next hour or two on the phone to ANZ trying to sort it out to be told in the end that they had cancelled my card due to some suspicious transactions from USA. I was not pleased & gave them a serve about not proactively contacting me, only to find a message from them on my phone yesterday saying they needed to talk to me urgently. Oops. Being the angry pig headed person I am, I refused offers of cash from our mates to pay for dinner as I was sure that it could be sorted on the spot due to the great injustice of it all. I was wrong & Suz & I ate bikkies for dinner.

Monday was spent with me sooking over some flat batteries, helping Dutch fix his boat trailer and then a dip at a local swimming hole. Uno Attack that night was good fun. Relationships truning sour all over the place!

Yesterday was good fun to a degree. Nath has had a sore ear so I took him to the doc and waited for over an hour to be told that it was probably viral & to go away. Grrr. We still had time to check out Edith Falls in Nitmiluk National Park. It was great for swimming with the kids so Nath and I got quite close to the splash pool & then got taken for a ride in the current. The highlight of the day was finding Byers Road (see attached picture). I hope our week in Finke is as good as the road sign Steve!

This morning Amy spoke to her Kindy class on Skype. It was very cute. We'll head up to Darwin in the next few days & then start heading back south.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



20th July 2011

still katherine
sounds like a frustrating day in the field mick! but at least there were cold beers, altho i wont ruin the sentiments ask what brand was supplied! What happened with the credit card in the end? woulda made u feel sick in the stomach when they first told ya i reckon, being miles from home etc! sounds like youve got it sorted tho.. That is so cool that Amy got to speak to her kindy class on skype, thats really good by them! is that the kinder near st cuthberts? Is Nath's ear OK now? took his mind of it by giving him a clip over the other one did u?? Oh and finally whats this about Byers Road? Private joke ay? And have u caught up got a hold of Lovers yet?? Miss u all! Uncle Tim
21st July 2011

noice pics
Lovin the photos of the water holes especially the one of you and Amy in the little waterfall, fantastic! See you in 2 weeks!
25th July 2011

Hello from Old Nan's Friend !!
Hey guys, it's just taken me about 20 minutes to work out how to make a comment on here. Old people don't pick things up so easily!! So great to see your photos and read what you are up to. As Bec said, obviously written by a man with so much fishing and footie, ha ha. You're doing a great job, Mick, you're a laugh a minute. Keep safe and enjoy every day, look fwd to catching up and hearing about it all when you get back. Nana is good, same dear Nana as always. :) Lots of love to you all, from us all. xxxx

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb