Gorge Country


Advertisement
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Katherine GorgeKatherine GorgeKatherine Gorge

Nitmiluk NP, NT
14th October 09 - 16th October 09

Katherine (Nitmiluk) Gorge National Park

Oh my god it is getting hotter and hotter! Today is too hot. I seek the relief of the air con at the Visitor's Centre in Katherine before heading out to the Gorge. Plan on spending a few days out in the Gorge. Since Lawn Hill NP I haven't stopped anywhere for more than a day so it will be nice to just hold up for a few days at least.

Katherine Gorge is quite a surprise. The Information Centre at the Gorge is huge, modern and really very nice. It has a National Park display, cafe, gift shop and all in air con! The campground is very nice too. There is a pool in the middle of the campground with a bar and bbq meals at night. The strange thing is that this is a 'National Park' campground not a privately owned one! The nicest National Park campground I have been in that's for sure. But don't worry, you play for it. At $ 14 a night for an unpowdered site for one adult, it's the most I have payed so far.

The pool
Canoe tripCanoe tripCanoe trip

First gorge Nitmiluk NP, NT
is refreshing and I enjoy an afternoon swim. Boy was I shocked when a lady started to sing! They have nightly entertainment by the pool it would appear. Maybe it's time to get out of the pool...

The sounds of 60's and 70's classic tunes fill the campground and as I cook my dinner I may have even started singing along to a song or two... maybe!

Oh my god... it's too hot, unnaturally hot, inhuman hot.... I can't sleep, won't sleep, I have melted to the bed. I sleep with all the van doors open tonight, under my mozzie net. Well sleep if you can call it that. I think I got about an hour total if I was lucky.

The next day i decide to go for a hike, why I hear you ask? I don't know, cause I am insane, and obviously haven't had enough sleep to make my brain think clearly. Yes a hike would be a wonderful idea! Yeah, not really I soon learn. Should have set out at dawn. The walk takes me up over the gorges and the views are pretty impressive. I end up at the lookout over the
Katherine GorgeKatherine GorgeKatherine Gorge

Nitmiluk NP, NT
first gorge and watch the canoes paddle by. A swim in the river at the end of the day just about does me and the previous night's restless sleep catchs up with me and I am asleep before I know it. One of the great things about camping is the sleeping pattern you soon develop. I am dead to the world by 9pm and then as bright as a button by 6am. Arh, living with nature!

Second day I hire a canoe for half a day and head off up into the gorges. Half day hires are only allowed to go up the first gorge, but I am an expert paddler, and extremely fit.... so I go up the second as well. I will make it back on time (I think). The first gorge is nice but wow the second gorge is fabulous! More gorge-like. There is a head wind heading up so it's a relief to have it behind you on the way back. Which as it turns out is a good thing for me because I have to paddle like a lifesaver to get myself back to the hire place on time. Only 15 minutes late.... they
Second gorgeSecond gorgeSecond gorge

Nitmiluk NP, NT
let me off! Must be my charm!

With my legs sunburnt and arms like jelly, I wave (well more like flop my arm about because I can't really lift them) goodbye to Katherine Gorge and continue onto Edith Falls which is still apart of Nitmiluk NP just alittle further up the highway.

Only takes about an hour to get to Edith Falls. It's peaceful, quiet and much more low key than Katherine Gorge. I can relax and enjoy the massive swimming hole or 'plunge pool' as they so lovingly like to refer to them up here. I go on the walk to the upper pools in the late afternoon. You only hike around here on dawn or sunset I have learnt. Any other time it is just too hot.

The next big adventure draws near... the almighty Kakadu NP!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Edith FallsEdith Falls
Edith Falls

Nitmiluk NP, NT


Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb