Letter from Poverty Hill


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Tamworth
December 3rd 2005
Published: December 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, i'm leaving tomorrow and it is all a little surreal. I arrived back up here about 10 days ago. If it wasn't for my mum and Cathy i never would have made it out od Canberra - Thanks!

I've lost and found many things this week. I've managed to get almost everything that i needed to do done, even some Christmas presents.. no cards though - sorry about that!

I will be leaving tomorrow at 0945 out of Tamworth Airport for Sydney, then Sydney to LA.
To keep me company i will have Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, ear plugs and a sleeping mask!

I've had "Christmas" lunch with my grandmother and my parents and sisters (little brother couldn't get away from school) and given all my copies of my thesis away.

It is a beautiful still night here tonight which is a change given that it has been really windy (exacerbated by the location of mum and dad's property on a hill) or raining or a combination. If it wasn't for Dad telling me to move my car a few days ago it would have been wiped out by a flying water tank (upturned and empty) which ended up hitting one of the pylons of one of the large machinery sheds. Better than a tree i guess....but if its not tied down then watch out when it starts getting windy! There are lots of crickets and frogs making lots of noise though and the bugs are back - and flies, they are so bad this year, you are permanently waving them away during the day (the rain has helped a little.)

However, My favourite thing about this place is the stars and that you can see the horizon because the only pollution is a little light pollution from nearby Tamworth at night.

That's it - see you on the road!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb