Bikinis, fishing & beaching...


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

G'day friends. You know, I have not heard anybody use that phrase- ever/yet. Maybe it will come. So, Megan is still without a bag... the airport said it will be here at the campground by 9:00pm. Security is on it and will deliver it to Ensuite #7. Yeah... Megan is still a bit bummed, but hey, she has managed and thank goodness we packed the toothbrushes in another bag! (really this would only have applied to Abby since they are sharing a sleeping bag!)

Speaking of sleeping bags... so we knew coming here that is was winter... yah yah yah! We have mostly managed the last 2 nights by cuddling extra close, socks, pj pants, long sleeves... I think you have a better understanding if you have ever camped in Jasper in the summer. No matter that it is July... it is still mountain cold at night. So picture the same temps- just half a world and the southern hemisphere away... you would get the idea. So at 3:00am when I went for my usual mid-night tinkle, I can see my breath. The girls are really just one lump in the middle of their sleeping bag and I crawl back into mine seeking any warmth off Stephen- who until then was in a meer t-shirt. (he quickly put on a fleece once he realized he too was cool to the touch!) Thus, another trip to ole K-Mart this morning produced 2 more sleeping bags- one for each pair. (we've decided to tuck this one inside the other 2 with hopes it will stay in place.

Oh- about that jet lag business. So, we are feeling quite perky by 6:00am and rarin' to go by 7:00. I confess that at 3:00am I am quite alert. On our first night here,we did manage to last until 7:00- only to be awake at 3. We did stay in bed til 7. Last night we stuck it out-oh yah- night owls here- til all of 9. Tonight- well, Megan has already popped into bed ((it's 7:30pm) and Abby is reading. We are trying to last until 9. We have not only justified our fatigue to jet lag, but also to being outside from the moment we wake until bed time. All the fresh air you know...

So today was a quiet day. After bikini shopping (for Megan) we hit the beach. I think it is called Tulametta beach. Anyway, it is in our area called Narabeen Beach. Beautiful. If we could add pictures we would. We hung out there and watched a local surfing contest. (quite dull really- you have to wait for a good wave and we are quite certain there are many rules we are unclear about...) Then we pulled out the fishing rod hoping to catch us some dinner. The locals have been pulling in Black fish. Quite a fighter and apparently lovely to eat. Alas, the one that got away was huge, so we had to suffice with Thai food. Equally delicious.

Tomorrow plans to be a busy day. Since we will likely be up early, we plan to grab a bus to Manly, then the water taxi to Circular Quay (downtown). Upon our arrival there, we plan to shop at the QVB until it warms up a little outside, then hit the Maritime Museum. We also plan to actually walk around the Opera house then stroll the Royal Botanical Gardens which border it.

So, I shall sign off, since I have written plenty.

Feel free to add comments, we'd love to hear from you.

G'day from down under- e,m,a, s.

Advertisement



28th July 2007

winter... we hear ya!
Hey ladies and Stephen...we know what ou mean by cold. there is no way really to prepare for the 3 am night rush to the toilet. We know you'll enjoy the weather as it warms up. WE are in Brisbane from the 8-10 hope it works to see you. WE fly out at noonish on the 11th. Stay warm Rhonda, Tim Ashlynn and Cole
28th July 2007

Bats!!!
Have you seen the bats yet!?!? I'm quite sure that MEGAN was completely upset that she had to BUY a bikini in Australia, huh! Tsk, Tsk. Have a great day tomorrow! p.s. have a drink somewhere in the Rocks for me please!
28th July 2007

hey!
I think you need to update your picture... Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm having a hard time imagining a glacier in Aussie.
29th July 2007

I MISS YOU GUYS!!
MS ZALESCHUK, MEGAN,ABBY,AND STEVEN! The trip sounds amazing,a little cold but eh whatcha gunna do? I bet the shopping is awesome there and megan..I`m expecting something from there..hahaha just jokes. Anyways cuties i just thought id say HOLLA and i miss you all....I will talk to you guys when you get back! Megan..Get some cute Australian boys phone number for yourself ;) Im sure there is a million hotties there. Byeee!
29th July 2007

Happy for you!
Elaan, Sounds like you are having a grand time with your family! I can't imagine what an adventure you must be having. I enjoy the updates you are sending and look forward to some pictures soon. Did the girls get a copy of the new Harry Potter book? I missed you this summer in Colorado. I also did not get to work with Joy. Maybe next year we can all reunite and catch up?
30th July 2007

Wheew
Hey meg and family!! That sounds amazing! Too bad you lost your bag. But lucky you get it back! You havent missed anything here but are you ENJOYING HARRY POTTER?!!! It's amazing, is it not?! A real tear jerker[for me at least] but im not even done! I'll keep reading your blogs (I wish I could be there with you) but for now talk to you soon and have fun down under!
30th July 2007

Manly Lodge Guest House
Hey, the advertisement for the hostel on the side is classic! Such a good place, stayed there when I was in Manly...drop the campsite for ONE night and you guys should stay there ONCE! haha
30th July 2007

greetings from down under
Hi there. Awesome to hear from you! We are having a great time and spending our last day in Sydney tomorrow. Missed being in CO this year also. I just added Dan to my blog since his email was lost to me...Anyway, I noticed they did 4 sessions this summer. Anyway, Yes- she has watched the new movie and read the book! Jesse I imagine the same. I am on Ch. 3- just haven't had much chance to sit and read. Anyway, I shall run. Take care, elaan and girls.
30th July 2007

hi there
Hi- Meg did get her bags on sat.night. phew. The nights are cool but at least we are not melting. We are leaving here on wed. and heading to warmer climes. Hugs for you both and the kitty too! (ok- chip too)
30th July 2007

hello
Hi there. So- we plan to be in Brisbane around the same time and plan to fly out of there by Aug. 10 (we may change our date to get more time up north...). Anyway, it would be awesome to meet you in Brisbane. We met up with friends of mine in Sydney. How cool is that! I will be in touch with you and then when we are in B. we can let you know where we are staying and we can give you a call and see if we can connect. Talk to you soon. E, M, A and S.
30th July 2007

hey...
Hey- if we could get a USB port on a computer we would have some awesome pictures- esp. one of Stephen using the indicator light in the car only to really turn on the windshield whipers. We have an exceptionally clean windshield. Hope the sailing at WSC is great! Hello to Heidi.
30th July 2007

just for you...
we are heading to the Rocks tomorrow for our last hurrah in sydney. We will stop for a beer just for you... what do we do with the girls...make them wait on the street- right, they'll be okay with that. ahahahaha Later, e,m,a,s.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb