... here we come


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Sydney Airport
August 15th 2006
Published: August 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Im sitting here at the departure gate of Thai Airways relaxed but still red in the face from a worrying moment. I woke up today and realized, 'shit, im going to Thailand!'. I spent the day tying up loose ends: getting money for a cab, getting a haircut (so I wouldn't have a mop on my head in the Thai heat), picking up shampoo. You know, all those good things. On my way home I stopped by a hostel and booked a shuttle to the airport. I got home, cleaned my room, relaxed/read and wrote a few emails. After packing it was time to get food and hop on the shuttle. The driver ran over to me in a huff (obviously running late) and grabbed my bag as he directed me to jump in. There were no seats left so I sat on the floor of the van and we sped off. About halfway tot he airport I realized somehting drastic. I didnt have my passport! I panikcked and told the driver to stop and he just grunted me off. I told him my predicament and he said he'd drop me off on the way back. He ended up being my saviour as he stopped at my place, waited for me to get my passport and money and then drove me back to the airport as if he were Michael Schumacher. I tipped him as well as a poor canadian traveller can tip and now here I am at the airport with time to spare cleared through customs. Thailand here we come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb