Hello! from Sydney...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Randwick
May 22nd 2011
Published: May 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello people!

So I have decided to start a travel blog... I probably should have done this a long time ago but seeing as I have only traveled within North America (until now) I figured now that I'm off the continent it would be a good idea. Obviously my first trip was to the other side of the world... and quite possibly the least foreign place everrrr, but it is awesome none the less! (ps. everywhere everyone hates Americans... except in America (and Canada b/c we love everyone) just thought you should know).

So even though Australia doesn't seem to be extremely foreign, there are two things that definitely are! Those being, 1) the food and 2) the people. I have not eaten Kangaroo yet but I have eaten way more Thai, Chinese and Japanese foods here than I have in my whole LIFE! I have met local people in shops and bars etc but during my stay here I have known WAY more Canadians, Americans, and Asian people than Australian FOR SURE. Aka. Australia is just like North America... except that all the locals look like they've been ripped straight out of fashion magazines (time to step up, Canada).

I've taken 2 trips on the ferry so far! One to a place called Manly (where I kindaaaa surfed a little...) and one to Watson's Bay (where we did a nice walk and saw some not-so-nice looking old men on a nude beach - GROSS). And of course numerous trips on the bus to the down town area, across the bridge, to china town, Newtown (where Matty works in a cute cookie store) and Paddington (with the markets/where Cody works).

Yesterday we rented a car and drove up the coast to the middle of nowhere... but had a delightful drive and took some good pictures... we've also been finding lots of shells on the beach (and will collect some sand) to bring home!

I think I'll end my post here for now... I'll add some pictures later... and another update is soon to come!

ta ta for now,

Olivia

Advertisement



25th May 2011

We are looking forward to your photos.
We'd love you to go back and blog about your travels in North America.
25th May 2011

I will definitely blog more when I go home!
Thanks for the encouragement :)

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb