The Journey Part 5 (JP5)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Parramatta
June 5th 2010
Published: June 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I was at home listening to my itunes which, was on ‘party shuffle.’ The washing machine had just finished and the pot on the stove started to rattle for the veggies were being steamed. As I walked to gather the iron to put it on the ironing board I heard Tools’ song Stinkfist. When I was a teenager this 90’s alternative metal song would be the precursor to an enthusiastic weights session that would eventually never develop to any rippled feature.

Now whilst I put the iron on the board, turned the knob down on the stove I realised; ‘Shit I really should have done the washing earlier. These clothes are never going to dry in time. Why do I always do this?’ But as I opened yet another peg and put it on the line attaching itself to clothes that are better off in the dryer I realised I really have become too domesticated. Domesticated like an urban cat and I don’t like it… Well not yet anyway.

I’m 24 years old - Umm, that’s based on how many birthdays you have in your own country - so for the past 4 years I have aged 1 year (including my birthday in 3 weeks!!) So I thought at 24, what am I doing here I’ve got the rest of my life to become “settled down.” There’s too much out there for me to call stumps on my young adult life. The comforts of home is too urbanised for me just now. I need to see the wild cats of Africa.

That’s right Dribblers The Journey Part 5 (JP5) has arrived and this time its covering Africa. On what surely will be my last Journey I will begin in South Africa for the Word Cup than Victoria Falls than who knows? I really haven’t prepared well this time.

I have made a deal to myself years ago. ‘As soon as I start balding I’ll settle down.’ But how is that going to happen when I witness Australia beat England in the Round of 16 at the World Cup football. Or climb one of Africa’s mountains, see a gorilla in the mist, go on a safari, scuba dive the Indian Ocean? Africa’s got it all!

So sit back and relax its time to get ready for JP5. I’ll take my spot on the incredibly, uncomfortable bus seat that I can’t fit into as it bumps around on poorly kept roads. I’m going to wait patiently for a bus that will never come, but when it does its packed to the rafters. I’m going out there to eat dodgy food again, who needs veggies steamed on a home stove.
I’ll put myself out there to get robbed at knifepoint again. I’m willing to argue and negotiate with corrupt police who have just beaten me up the previous day. All this for an official letter confirming what they just did to me for travel insurance claim.

And why am I going to go through all this - again? Because travel teaches you that the good times far outweigh the bad. When it is good it is unbelievable! And when its bad, man it makes a hell of a good story. God I love travelling!


Advertisement



11th June 2010

24 aye?
So if you're 24....how old is your liver?

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb