Been too Long...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » North Ryde
March 13th 2009
Published: March 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well it has been a month and a day exactly since I've been in Australia. My overly- zealous self wanted to write every day about my going-ons and activities, yet that idea quickly flew out the window. So now, as I sit here on my couch in my house Friday evening at 6:26, it's finally time to share my life with those I hold most dear in the world. There's no way I could just skip over the past month, and many of you wouldn't be too pleased with me if I did, so bear with me as I recount the many adventures, heartaches, and academic points. Leaving February 10th at 4:55 PM and saying goodbye to the best Dad in the world was hard, probably because I knew I wouldn't be able to just turn right around and run into his arms when times got tough over these months away. But I did leave with the knowledge that my entire family and support system of friends were behind me, and still continue to be, which means a lot. Quickly jetting to LAX then waiting until midnight to leave for Brisbane was a bit tiring on the nerves, but I met a bunch of people on the same program, so we bonded over the trips. Our plane to Australia was, and I'm not lying, two stories and had stairs in it- we didn't believe it until we got off and looked at it. I'll put a picture up after I've finished this post as well as some others recounting my adventures. Our first escapade came when half the group didn't make the flight up to Cairns on Thursday the 12th, so while half of us got to land, explore the city, and go swimming, the other half was tiredly sitting in the Brisbane airport until 5. Luckily, I was on that first flight with my newly-made friend Emily from Vermont. We met other girls when we received our room assignments, quickly made introductions, and wandered around Cairns. The four of us have continued to hang out, and I'm so pleased and blessed to have met these lovely ladies they've been crucial in my life here. Emily's a junior from Vermont who attends URI, and wants to be a doctor. Hilary's a sophomore (like me!) from Missouri with the cutest accent, and is in the nursing school at Central Methodist University. Candace lives in Chicago and attends a tiny school of about 3,000 either in the city or in Michigan, can't remember whoops. These three have and continue to impact me on a daily basis, and are quickly growing very dear to my heart. Back in Cairns, the group went to a park Friday called RainForeStation, where we threw boomerangs, went on an army duck boat ride, watched Aboriginal dances, held a snake, played with kangaroos and dingoes, and (best of all) held the adorable Humphrey the Koala Bear (that picture will be going up of course). Saturday was Great Barrier Reef day, and I surprisingly burned due to the lack of ozone over Australia. But the day was fantastic, only big disappointment was that I couldn't go scuba diving due to my asthma, yet I still made the most of it and went snorkeling, equally as beautiful. The long boat ride out to the Reef and hours there were fantastic, and friends were made, bonds grew, and fun was had by all. Course we all went out Saturday night (Valentine's Day) looking hot, and made friends with the locals. Knowing me, how could I not?! And the gals I hang with are just like me 😊
Sunday we flew to Sydney, and got settled into our new homes at Macquarie University Village. I live in house 45, room 5, with four great housemates. Only one was here when I moved in, and the other three I met over the course of that first week. Mannu's from India, but moved here four years ago, so he has a funny mixed accent, yet keeps us all amused and good-natured. Aron, who lives in the room right next to me, is from San Diego and attends Wisconsin University- he's the sweetest thing, also hilarious, and genuine- he'll ask my opinion on clothes, and for my english critiques on papers. The only other gal, Leslie, is from the Bronx, NY, and boy! is she a tough cookie. We bonded one Sunday over breakfast and cheesy old movies, and as the only two females in this house, keep "our boys" in line as we affectionately call them. Finally, Nils moved in a week later from Germany. He's 25, in grad school for economics, and adorable as well as a true gentleman. The five of us make up house 45, and we can always be found with the door open, music or tv on, and enjoying a good laugh or food. Our favorites are Doritos, Mexican, ethnic cuisine, and Tim-Tams (the BEST cookie ever!).
Unfortunately, that Sunday I came down with a stomach bug, but my three girls helped me through it, and kept my spirits up until I got better Wednesday. That week was low-key, a bit boring, and quiet, spent bonding, eating, and prepping for classes. The next week, Macquarie University began its Fall 2009 semester, and I spent it attending four classes styled quite differently and rearranging my schedule. Due to the fact that things were still moving slowly, I grew homesick Wednesday the 25th, missing home and everything with it. Then, Thursday the 26th changed everything for me and my entire family- Mom and Dad received a call from Jordan saying Grandpa was in the hospital and we didn't know why. I'd talked with Dad via email Wednesday, and thought he'd be off to Atlanta on Thursday, but Mom had to break it to me on skype that night what had happened. Of course I broke down, instantly concerned and wanting to jump on a plane to Jordan instantly; Mom had to calm me down, then I tried to distract myself the rest of the night, but when I got home, still didn't feel right. Friday the news came, and I lost it again: Grandpa Yergy had died, quickly and painlessly, in the hospital as Dad and Pam were flying to him. He left this world knowing his kids were coming to him, and knowing the family was thinking of him, so I couldn't be too angry yet it still hurt. In this time, I learned who my true friends were here, and it meant so much they helped me out. My house was so great, the girls helped, and my new boys helped as well, especially Oliver. They kept me occupied, comforted me, and reminded me of the good things. All of my friends at home and the family around the world also kept me up, and I thank you all for everything. By now that sudden anger and pain has faded to a dull ache, and I keep him in my memories every day. There's no doubt in my mind he's in Heaven with Grandma and Auntie Cate.
That weekend, the girls and I went into Sydney to this HUGE place called Paddy's Markets where we spent the day shopping, bonding, and trying new foods. Weeks two and three of classes have gone smoothly, the work's not too intense, and I'm managing to stay on top of it all and go out. The big nights here are Wednesdays and Thursdays, then the weekends too. So pretty much, all week, with resting Sunday and Monday sometimes Tuesday depends on who you're hanging out with. Last Saturday was Gay-Lesbian Mardi Gras, so we all went into the city to watch the parade, celebrate with festivities, and stay out until all hours of the night. Manly Beach was that weekend too, and the whole place was stunningly beautiful. Who else can say they went to a beach on a Friday in March?! Well, besides us of course. Beach all day, delicious $10 salmon dinner, two bottles of Shiraz for $15, and fantastic ice cream with tons of free toppings for dessert. All in all, incredible day.
I think that's all, everything caught up with, stories recounted, etc etc etc. Tonight, it's into Sydney with us- the Navy of about 5,000 entered Sydney Harbor today on 16 ships, and the fleet's being let out into the city all night. Basically, thousands of hot men in uniform to hang out with, flirt with, maybe meet a hot Aussie or something..... but don't worry, I'll be careful as I know many of you reading this will tell me.
I love you all so much, and love Australia too. Bonne nuit mes amis! <3

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb