Fundraiser Party with The Incredible Hexadecibels


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Marrickville
September 29th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

One month of nothing but party blogs! Ok, ok,... I'll give you something else soon, I promise. It's just that I didn't do anything else... so here's another one:

It was a fundraiser party for a club that isn't one really, yet. Actually it was nothing but a room; a small one, to boot. I arrived early this time; about 10; after ages of train travel from Wollongong - the usual procedure. There were several bands from Melbourne playing. Very different styles; anything from grunge to ambient rock. So I was jumping in one moment and closing my eyes for another. Really enjoyable bands; I didn't expect this. One of the drummers was unthinkably amazing and there were several very talented guitarists and bass players.
The audience changed completely and I was one of maybe five people that stayed for the afterparty, understanding and enjoying both kinds of music and being a little proud of it. Among the new set of visitors I find the usual suspects, of course. This subculture is so incredibly small here...
About half past 12 The Incredible Hexadecibels crushed the stage, putting up an amazing show combining mixing, VJing, acting and vocals to a magnificent show. The idea was playing a kind of fake partly pseudorealistic videogame with the audience. A fantastic combination of different media, very experimental and based on breakcore. Although their show is still a little too short I can tell that this goes in a new direction and needs to be pursued. I told them that their ideas are wasted to an audience like this here in Australia/New Zealand (there have been about 50 visitors). When they come to Europe next time we definitely have to book them! And we will.
The rest of the party was as mindblowing. One of the liveacts was B.I.N.T. and his performance was fucking awesome. At one point he sampled the Channel9 News about the warehouseparty in Camperdown the other day (I wrote about that and provided a link to the the news on YouTube) - that was the first time I had the impression that I'm really into the subculture now, as I knew what it was about. I can imagine that it must be pretty difficult to understand what this guy on the stage and all the people on the floor are doing when you enter a situation like that without preparation. Well, it took me a good three years of serious education. And I enjoyed it. Oh, yes I did. This guy was kickin ass. A fantastic breakcore liveact. You guys at home should figure out on what labels he releases and start to buy his records.
The last maybe two hours Jonathan (one of the Hexadecibels) was DJing with his Laptop. And he is incredibly fast - maybe that's why he is Laptop Battle Champion in New Zealand. He does a really good job and it appeared quite interesting to me, being a hybrid of DJing and performing a liveact. He entertained us for the rest of the night, being so totally focused on what he was doing that he didn't really care if there is only about a dozen of us left. But the few of us really had fun we didn't really need more people; given the fact that the room was so small.
Quarter to five this very entertaining two component party came to an end and I say 'goodbye' and 'see you in Auckland' to the Decibels and to Mari and and all the guys I saw for the first time this day, heading off to the bloody trainstation. I wasn't home before 8:30 am but it's not really hard to trick myself into being convinced that it's absolutely worth it. And it was! Breakcore, Keine Ausreden!

Advertisement



1st October 2008

thanks for your kind words, glad you enjoyed the party. there are a few b.i.n.t. releases on Goulburn Poultry Fanciers Society. http://www.667u.com/goulburn%20poultry%20fanciers%20society.html
1st October 2008

oh and..
if you want to check out my myspace it's www.myspace.com/bintske cheers!
3rd October 2008

thanks
found your myspace already in the breakcore forum. See you soon...
6th October 2008

boah..
..was du warst auf ner party mit mainstream und killjoy?!?!??! hab viele platten von denen.. breakcore der härteren gangart.... beste grüsse von zuhause...am samstag fette illegale party im alten 1040...schau im ostcode..party als selbstmordkommando und geiler widerstand der partypeople lol .... ..micha

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb