It's a great view from up here


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Manly
November 24th 2005
Published: November 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Manly apparently got its name when Capt Cook saw the local Aborigines and thought they had a manly physique. Hard to say how much truth there is, as I haven't seen hide nor hair of an Aborigine since arriving in Sydney. Manly is very nice, though, and there are worse places one could have to spend another night.

Since getting to Oz we have ummed and aahed about what to do- at one point we were going to drive from Sydney to Perth, then we thought about the train across the Nullarbor, then maybe a flight. In the end, we junked all those plans and chose to book flights to Bali. So we did- the plan was to to fly to Bali on the 21st Dec, stay in a hotel until the 27th and then travel around a bit until we flew to Perth on the 12th Jan. This was all booked and this morning we went in to the travel agent to pick up the tickets, all ready to jump in the station wagon and head off to the Blue Mountains and start our trip down to Melbourne.

And then Air Paradise went in to liquidation. The same Air Paradise we were booked to fly with...

We have managed to rejig our plans, and should still be going to Bali, but it's going to cost us a little bit more. So we've taken the decision to leave Mia and Jake in Australia whilst we're in Indonesia. We're posting them to Perth (airmail), and will pick them up when we fly back from Bali. And before you get all concerned, don't worry- we'll provide a tin of beans (each!) and a tin opener.

I've also decided that I will put some photos on this thing soon. It makes it much better, doesn't it? Words can only paint so much of a picture, I always find. Especially when I'm not actually describing anything.

That's your lot for now. Until the next time...

Advertisement



24th November 2005

Tin openers
Do they know how to use them?
28th November 2005

Hide/hair - aboriginal
How do you know you haven't seen an aboriginal hair. It is also possible you may have experienced one or more with a different sense faculty. I agree with previous comments about your over generous treatment of Mia and Jake. You say you provided them with a tin of beans each. I am amazed that you are able to continue to fund your travels given such extravagance. Spoiling them in this way will provide a rod for your own backs later on. They will become the type of OAPs / whoops! senior citizens who demand pensionsto live on. I can just see them hoarding baked beans and denuding the supermarket shelves thereof. And what about the teaching them to share. One (small) tin would have done.
3rd December 2005

bonjour Mia
Mia, Have you find anything interesting to show me when you come back to England? I will be 5 years old on Thrusday 8th Dec. I'm having a party at home and have invited Ciara from Cedar Park. I wish you could be there at my party. I like school and I can now read some books. I've just come back from my school Christmas party and I saw Father Christmas! He gave me a lovely present: a magic wand. Miss you Octaviaxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
8th December 2005

hope the kids are enjoying their independence - by the time you get back to them they'll doubtless be able to barbie the beans! Get some pics on the web and then we can see what youre not describing. Hope all well lots of love from all the goldies and barney xx

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb