1st week in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
November 8th 2011
Published: November 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow, can't believe I've been in Sydney a week already, it's flying by. I went to Bondi and loved it, although did get cold as quite windy. Lots of surfers there so was trying to pick up some tips. Can't wait to go back. Thought I'd be spending all my tine at the beach but I love just walking around finding new places and sitting in the gardens reading and relaxing. Actually starting to learn my way around the city now so don't always need my map anymore which makes me feel less like a tourist and more like I'm actually staying here for a while. (Still have to keep telling myself that I'm not just here for a short holiday and don't need to rush to do everything). Had my 1st Kangaroo burger the other day, appropriately called 'Skippy'. Tasted just like steak, was great. Saturday I went to watch a firework show at Darling Harbour, was amazing so many people and great atmosphere. Lasted for about 10 mins so similar to the ones at home but you can't beat sitting by the sea watching a 'free' firework show. Can't wait for NYE display now. On the way back to the hostel realized that Kings Cross (where I'm staying) is the red light district of Sydney. (We felt very overdressed.) Also been to the Australian museum. There's a room which has skeletons of all different animals/spiders/dinosaurs etc. Was very interesting. Had my 2nd surf lesson. Same teacher, which was great, this time a class of 6, 2 Americans, 2 Danish and a girl from Reading (small world). Definitely improving. Can now stand up and actually 'glide' along rather than fall over as soon as I get up. There's a 5 day surf trip which goes from Sydney to Byron Bay which I might do as now slightly addicted. Was just as dangerous as the first though. (My 1st lesson I collided with another girl and got her ankle strap wrapped around my neck. This time only got hit on the nose with the board, which hurt like hell, and managed to take small chunk out of my ankle when scraped it on the fins). Absolutely loved it though and am soooo looking forward to doing some more surfing up the east coast. Took the ferry over to Manly yesterday. View from ferry was brilliant, the opera house/bridge looked amazing. Also booked my 1st trips. (Open ticket so I can just decide to book when I leave Sydney). A yacht trip around the Whitsunday Islands with lots of snorkelling, and a 4x4 and camping trip on Fraser Island. The really cool thing is I got a special deal when I booked, I also got FOR FREE a 3 day canoeing and camping trip around Noosa, further up the coast. Found the 'Selfidges' of Sydney. David Jones, and they've just put out their Xmas window displays. The store's already playing Xmas tunes. Felt very odd to be in 30 degree heat with Xmas stuff all around. I s'pose I'll get used to it by Xmas though.

Advertisement



9th November 2011

Hi Jolene!
Great blog, keep it coming, I feel like I am living the dream with you. Where's the photo of you actually on the surfboard - we need proof! Where are the beautiful gardens you have photos of? Missing you!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb