Leaving Sydney and The Pink House


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
April 10th 2006
Published: April 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My last nightMy last nightMy last night

A few drinks in the courtyard first
As I am always so retrospective with my Travel Blogs I thought that it would be a welcome change to get one that was hot off the press! I left Sydney on Saturday and felt very emotional to be leaving the City, the Freak Show (not my words) that is Kings Cross Strip and obviously my hostel: The Pink House.

I have felt very much at home in most of the places I have stayed in since I have been away and haven't (touch wood) suffered with homesick, putting pay to my mums notion that "I am a little nomad"...This place has been my home (on and off) since early December and for the long termers it is a home from home. A lot of people say that it reminds them of halls at university, its a very strange attachment that we all have to the place and I can't describe it.

During my last few weeks I had far too many late nights, drank far too much wine/beer/anything that was going but it was all good! There are lots of photos attached of recent nights and my last night on Friday.

However now in Christchurch I am
The next train goes to Bondi JunctionThe next train goes to Bondi JunctionThe next train goes to Bondi Junction

I have done this route so much it warranted a photo!
paying for all my late nights - I woke up at 11.00 this morning and its certainly not jet lag. However I am not going to get much rest in New Zealand, I am starting my travels tomorrow and doing the Tranzalpine Express from Christchurch across to the east of the country-Greymouth. This is meant to be one the best train journeys in the world, I will report back on how it compares to the mighty Crewe to Liverpool pass...

This blog is very brief and to be honest its just an excuse to put up loads of photos but all the same I hope you enjoy. LOTS OF LOVE XXXXXXXXXXXXXX


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Room 15 Balcony!Room 15 Balcony!
Room 15 Balcony!

I was in room 15 for over a month and we had such a good group of people in it. It was also a very sociable room as it had a balcony...many a late night putting the worlds to rights on this balcony!
Champange ClubChampange Club
Champange Club

We all used to meet every Thursday evening for free 'Champagne'...Champagne it wasn't but it was still a good craic
Me and Miranda doing Fire PoiMe and Miranda doing Fire Poi
Me and Miranda doing Fire Poi

Bruce had been teaching me and Miranda (hostel manager) poi and thought that we were ready to progress to fire. I managed to do a few moves but ones that I could normally do with unlit poi I suddenly had a mental block as I was holding on to these two lit poi! Great fun though but surprisingly I was surprised how hot it was doing it!!
Me and BruceMe and Bruce
Me and Bruce

Bruce is a street performer that stays at the hostel and is a great pal. As you can see I got a bit dirty doing fire poi!
Me and and lovely Irish ClaireMe and and lovely Irish Claire
Me and and lovely Irish Claire

There were a fair few Clares so we had to differentiate!Claire was one of my really good friends in Sydney. We had a grand time!
Room 15........Room 15........
Room 15........

Its not all my mess!
Room 15........Room 15........
Room 15........

View from the Balcony
The Lovely DanThe Lovely Dan
The Lovely Dan

A fellow long termer and a room mate for a while. The sweetest guy-love him to bits!


11th August 2006

Better late than never(Have I used that Befiore?)
Australia's loss is our gain - sorry we haven't seen more of you since you've been home but looking for ward to putting that right. love you loads and have really enjoyed all these last photos xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb