Sydney....nice


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
April 2nd 2006
Published: April 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Opera HouseOpera HouseOpera House

Bet you don't know where this building is....
Apologies for my slack approach of late. I found myself trapped in a hammock on a tropical island for the last week and a half, but more of that later.

My final stop in good old Oz was Sydney, a city which for many people marks their first sight of the continent. For me, it was the last, and although i was a little underwhelmed by the whole experience, i can confirm it is a pretty nice place. I stayed a week in Kings Cross. A delightful place to stay, i highly recommend the area. That is, if you like walking past five strip joints everytime you go out to buy some fruit juice.

But it was cheap.

I admit i wasn't particularly active in that week. I missed out on the Blue Mountains, an error i am already kicking myself for. Most of the time i just checked out different areas of the city, spent plenty of time sitting in the Botanical Gardens reading, glancing up from my book every now and then to glimpse at the Opera House.

I took the ferry over to Manly one day, mainly to enjoy harbour views without paying for a cruise. The bay itself is pretty huge, and quite scenic. I saw a submarine (not fully submerged, obviously), and that was pretty sweet. Manly was a fairly standard beach resort, and could not really hold my attention.

I also scaled the harbour bridge, which was a good experience, although not quite as racy as i was imagining it would be. The views were pretty spectacular, and i can confirm that i have seen the opera house from pretty much every concievable angle.

Next stop, Thailand.

Advertisement



3rd April 2006

Git!!
Hey Dude! Sounds like you're still having fun! Hope Thailand treats you well. Missing you more than I thought! Come back soon!

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb