Sydney day 2


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
December 17th 2007
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again from Australia. We have a free 20 min of internet in our hostel, so I am taking advantage of that fact in order to update my blog. Everyone wins!
Today we walked for about six hours, taking in some fantastic sights. Our first stop was a quick look in the local cathedral, which you saw a picture of yesterday, but I was told I would have to pay two dollars to take pictures inside. As you see from the pictures though, I was able to take pictures because I came back at 5 when the shop was closed. I should have been a business major 😊
After basking in the golden light from the stain glass windows we headed to the local art museum where we took in some renaissance, south-east Asian, modern abstract, and a great photography exhibition. I especially liked the photography of August Sander, which consisted predominately of portrait shots. He got some very funny and realistic expressions of his subjects, including a self portrait titled, "August Sander after his nap". Where he looks like Albert Einstein with his hair frazzled.
We then walked through part of the local botanic gardens where we witnessed many flying foxes, or fruit bats, hanging out in some trees. After the bats we walked to the government house in the same area, which was closed unfortunately, and then we continued on to one of the most unique man made structures. The Sydney Opera House. I could not stop taking photos every couple minutes. There were just so many interesting angles to capture. I loved it! Dad you would have been there for hours with your camera I'm sure.
We then continued on to a contemporary art museum which had some very abstract art that either intrigued me or made me wonder why it was called art. It was all interesting though.
I relaxed in the park for a while afterward to rest my tired legs and did some people watching. The majority of the people were tourists, especially large groups of Asians, but there were a few of the local business looking chaps. (Talking with UK people is rubbing off on me 😊 I then got my free photos inside the church and came back to a nice Thai dinner.
Alright gotta load my pics.

Daniel



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb