Dreamtime Experiences of a Schoolgirl Who Grew Into a Master Teacher


Advertisement
Published: July 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

When my 6th grade teacher, Ms. Johnson, first gave the assignment to correspond in letter format with a pen-pal from Australia she ignited the wanderlust flame that has never faded. After she received a package of letters in a large manilla envelope, Ms. Johnson stood in the middle of the classroom among a class of excited students. She passed out each letter from Australia to each corresponding pen-pal in my 6th grade class at Weber Elementary. When she stopped to say, "Wow, some of these letters are just amazing," then called my name, I knew it was something rare. Now, a teacher myself, I am returning to travelblog with a profound appreciation for my educational upbringing. As an independent traveler for this lifelong dream to travel Australia, I dedicate all Australian blogs to sixteen years of pen-pal-ship and the fire-starter, Ms. Johnson.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb