First two weeks in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Darling Harbour
November 15th 2009
Published: November 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have been here exactly 2 weeks now and I am pretty much sorted and settled.

I moved into a gorgeous apartment last Wednesday overlooking the Chinese gardens and just 2 minutes walk to Darling Harbour. There are 8 people living there which is a bit cramped, but we are all in and out at different times so it isn't too bad. There are 2 bedrooms, one guys and one girls, and 2 bathrooms thankfully. The lounge is quite big and there is a huge balcony which we use as the lounge as it is getting into summer here now so it is warm enough to stay outside quite late. There is also a rooftop pool, gym, and sauna, and the block itself is really nice, so it has worked out well.

On the job front, I start work at French Connection on Thursday. I really want to get started so as I have both a routine and money coming in, hopefully I can save a bit too for my travels later on. I had another interview last week to sell perfume over Christmas but it was casual work as and when they needed me which is not what I wanted, I need a full time job to pay the rent!

I haven't done that much in terms of touristy stuff the last few days. I have been to Taronga Zoo which was good, spent quite a lot of time in the botanical gardens which are so nice. They are huge and you can just find a quiet spot on your own and relax for hours. Been shopping a few times and I love Circular Quay and the rocks area, so I went to the rocks market on Saturday and often eat my lunch down that way to pass the time. I have been out quite a lot the last few days although usually ending up at the same bar, the Scubar by Sydney Central YHA. We all went there in the first week when we were staying there and it is convenient so we end up back there on most nights out.

On Tuesday 17th November, four of us, me, Jenny, Simon and Andy went up the turret at the end of the Harbout bridge as we all had free passes. The views were amazing from up there of the harbour and the city skyline. We then had lunch in the Rocks and saw Micheal Buble, random I know but he is in Sydney working and he was just sat having a drink at a cafe, so we went and said hi. He was so nice and chatty, wishing us all a good day and really down to earth, posing for pictures for anyone who asked...I didn't as I was too shy, what a wimp!


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb