What a great 2008 & Best Wishes for 2009


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Darling Harbour
December 30th 2008
Published: December 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

Well where to start a lot has happened since I last blogged - not much to say about Coffs Harbour and we left there on the 23rd on the over night bus to Sydney. On Christmas eve we met up with Bev and SJ for some drinks and talked about how strange Christmas was on the otherside of the world.

Christmas day was spent on Bondi Beach. We headed down there with Bev, SJ and Jack where another 10,000 also headed! Very stange experience - it felt more like an August Bank Holiday in Whitley Bay than Oz - but the drinks flowed.

26th....Hangover. We got up early as we had to go and meet 'Paul' who my parents had organised some things for us through at 10:30 - so we grabbed a Hungary Jacks on the way (Burger King) to help with the hangover and arrived in Darling Harbour looking out for a man (who my parents had sent me a photo of) to be greeted by MY PARENTS!!!! Obviously there were tears and such shock - but luckily for me my hangover when away pretty quickly! We spent to rest of the day wandering round town, Circular Quay and ended up at the Opera House!

27th - We took a Sea Plane - yes a sea plane! To a place up the coast called Petes Bite - where we stopped for a leisurely 3 hour luncheon (our Christmas dinner) and then boarded the plane to come back into Sydney Harbour. The plane did have to make an emergency landing - quite scary - due to large storms over Rose Bay where we needed to loand - fantastic we landed on Summer Bay (known as Palm Beach over here)

28th - Hop on Hop off bus around Sydney for most of the day. We visited the Rocks Sunday market, Botanical Gardens, Opera House, Kings Cross, Central Station. Dinner in Darling Harbour.

29th- The Bridge Climb! Dad, Chris and I headed up the Sydney Harbour Bridge for our 3 hour trek to the middle across and won again! What a scary yet fantastic experience! Very worrying when you can see the ground beneath you from such a height! But we all made it back alive and then met mum for some lunch and Jack also for some afternoon drinks on the harbour.

30th - yesterday we boarded a coach for a Blue Mountains tour. We stopped at a Wildlife park - seeing the native animals. We had lunch in Leura and then went to Scenic World where we took a cablecar down the mountain down into the Valley and took the worlds steepest train back up the cliff! Here we also got to see the beautiful Blue Mountains.

Today is my brithday! Mesages welcome heehee! we are headed out on a boat over the harbour this evening which will be great! not sure what else yet - but havent yet seen anyone this morning i was up early so though i'd come and check my messages!

well for me it has been a fantastic year - a great 2008 and I want to wish everyone the best wishes for 2009! See you all very soon.

Lots of love Asti, Chris, Shelley & Ian!!! xxxx

Advertisement



31st December 2008

HI!!!!!!!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY my gorgeous sister!!! Hope you are living it up in style! Are mum and dad 2 there as a surprise or did you know they were coming? I am going to book my tickets to NYC in the next couple of weeks for April so see ya there baby!! Can't wait! I have done the Blue Mountains trip - fab stuff, although I got a little scared on the look out point that went straight out and all you could see was a drop...my legs started to shake! I love Sydney - so lushious! I am stateside at the moment. It is still 2008 by e but obviously you are a whole year ahead of me now AND you are 24 HAHA I am merely 23...for now! I fly back on Sat although I am hoping I get snowed in as there is snow falling as I type. Have a week prep and then I am let loose on the kiddies - eek! Teaching Y5/6 - remember the attitude at Valley...well that is moi teaching that attitude-wish me luck! OK my gorgeousness, hope you have had a brill birthday, wish I cvould have been there -especially as it is in Sydney!!!! Next year you could come to NY and celebrate it with me?! Speak soon. LOVE YOU! Love to mum and dad 2 and chris!xxxxxx
1st January 2009

Hey Als
Thanks for the lovely lovly messge I love you lots too and hope you had a fantastic time in NYC! I'll write you a long messge soon. But for now - I love you lots too sis xxx

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb