The Misfortunes of Technology


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Coogee
July 8th 2014
Published: July 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

G'day!

Apologies for the radio silence, my laptop died a sudden death and quite a few people tried quite a few things to revive it but to no avail, so i splashed out on a new one, buckling to the peer pressure of my relatives.

Since my last blog I've been working i don't really have much time for sightseeing . I did manage to go for a daytrip to the Blue Mountains in the outskirts of Sydney a few weeks ago. We caught the train from Central Station to Katoomba where the Blue Mountains National Park is. Stepping off the train it was noticeable how different the difference in temperature to sydney- it was freezing! The views were spectacular and a two hour walk around whats known as ' the three sisters' mainly consisting of stairs.The walk built up quite an appetite for a KFC afterwards.

So yeah, not much has happened, argh the dreaded routine of life. To keep trim and active every Monday night I go to a Nike organised 10k run. The run goes past the opera house, bangaroo, darling harbour and pymont. Even though I must have done it about 6 times I'm still amazed i have the privilege to run past the famous sights of Sydney. It sure beats running through Mossley ad Bloxwich. Only one more week and I get a free t-shirt! This Monday I met a lady who was head girl at St. Thomas More Catholic School. alas it is a small world!

A few weeks ago our friend James turned 26, so naturally we went to happy hour for a few. Charlie my flatmate had been talking to the barmaid who was selling two half price tickets to a ' state of origins' a game between New South Wales ( big up NSW!) and Queensland and we took her up on her offer. It was a good game which was highly contested. NSW had their first win in over 8 years! The atmosphere was amazing!

Every saturday I dodge the sharks and take a dip in the sea in Clovelly, swimming across a measured distance of 33ft around about 20 or so between two concrete piers. That's probably not alot but when you have the current to contend with it can really put you out your comfort zone. The weather now is cooler and on on Saturday ( according to the lifeguard tower) the water was warmer then the air temperature - 18 degrees c in the water/ 16 outside- still chilly when you get in!. The swimming certainly shakes off any hangover from happy hour/ post work Friday drinks. Last Saturday I managed to spot a fish well known amongst the locals as 'bluey' who is a blue groper ( no Rold Harris Puns Intended) and it watched as it swam right right under my feet.

In a three weeks I have a good friend from home coming over from the UK and we shall be doing a short but sweet trip up the east coast, to which my next blog shall be about my and Danielles travels in Sydney, Byron Bay, the Gold Coast and Brisbane.



Well there you are... no doubt you shall here off me again in the next few weeks.



JJ x


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb